PDA

View Full Version : Amd 2400 not working with 133fsb any more



siraaronr
24-04-2005, 02:48 PM
Hi
I have a amd 2400 that i have been using for nearly a year. this morning i turned the computer on it wouldn't boot. I took everything out (pci cards) and unplugged the drive still nothing. i rested the bois and the computer booted but now the cpu refuses to work at it's normal bus speed of 133, any higher than 120 and it will not boot. I tried another processor amd 1800 133fsb and it worked properly. Im at a lost at why the cpu suddenly will not work at 133fsb (btw i've never overclocked it and runs at about 45c) had a few problems before but that was the motherboard (sent it back) i haven't changed any hardware for a few months now i dont know what to do. the motherboard is a ak32a had it for a few years and 512 pc400 ram. Please help!

thanks
aaron

tweak'e
24-04-2005, 02:59 PM
if you can test the cpu on another pc.
otherwise i would suspect the powersupply includeing the power reulators on the motherboard.
also it wouldn't hurt to reset the bios and check all the settings.

siraaronr
24-04-2005, 03:21 PM
i have tied the 2400 cpu in another pc it still wont work at 133fsb, that pc has had a 133fsb processor in it before and it worked fine.
btw the processor i have is a amdxp 2400 thoroughbred 'b' operating clock of 2.0ghz, voltage 1.65v

tweak'e
24-04-2005, 03:24 PM
well its stuffed then. find another one.

siraaronr
25-04-2005, 12:30 PM
looks like i have to its useless now restarts before it gets to windows. i have a 1800xp now seems to be working alright