PDA

View Full Version : Primary Monitor



pmutton
20-04-2005, 07:09 PM
Hi

I ahve just purchased a Acer TM 4000 Laptop and want to plug in a 17 inch LCD screen and use that as my primary monitor when it is plugged in to the laptop.

I can set the 17 inch as extended desktop but when I try to set it to the primary monitor nothing shows on the 17 inch and the laptop screen reverts to 640 *480

Please help
:@@:

Agent_24
21-04-2005, 01:30 AM
update the video drivers?

Myth
21-04-2005, 09:09 AM
You may need to increase the amount of RAM dedicated to the graphics card (this is set in BIOS)

smokenz
21-04-2005, 09:32 AM
Does your laptop have a function button to switch between laptop monitor, external monitor, and clone? Most laptops have it for use with the fn button.

All you should need to do is turn off extended desktop, and change with function button.

What video chipset does the laptop run? Nvidia, Ati, Intel ?

smokenz

pmutton
21-04-2005, 04:13 PM
Thanks SmokeNZ, I saw the moniter toggle button and tried it but it did not work the first time. Working now