PDA

View Full Version : hard drive problem



phylip
16-04-2005, 06:26 PM
my "friend" has a computer with a 240 gig hard drive but only reads as a 120 through windows xp
bios recognises as a 240

is this a xp problem or can it be fixed and how ?
any help would be appreciated
cheers
phill

Jen
16-04-2005, 06:32 PM
Does you friend have at least SP1 installed? If not, then install that or SP2 and it should be OK for recognising the over 128 gig mark drives.

Dannz
16-04-2005, 06:55 PM
Damn didnt read the whole question :o

Jen
16-04-2005, 06:58 PM
There is a limit in some BIOSes that dont allow HDD's over 127 GBBut phylip's BIOS does recognise the full size of the drive. Limitation seems to be at the OS end.

phylip
16-04-2005, 07:01 PM
thanks but ive installed service pack 2 and still says 120 gig drive
any other suggestions
may have to reformat but how do i do that when their pc does not have a floppy drive?
help please
cheers
phill

Dannz
16-04-2005, 07:05 PM
Is the HDD partittioned for the whole thing
Goto Start -> Run and type diskmgmt.msc
Check to see if there is any free space that is not partitioned - and what the HDD is reported as there

Jen
16-04-2005, 07:06 PM
Did you install SP2 (or did it already have SP1) before you installed the 240 gig drive? Under Disk Management, does it only show a 127 gig partition with the balance as unallocated? Has this drive been formatted with a single, or several partitions? I take it is a slave drive or is it the primary master drive?

phylip
16-04-2005, 07:08 PM
reads as 127.99 gb ntfs, 104.89gb unallocated

Dannz
16-04-2005, 07:09 PM
You have two choices:
Reformat or just use the HDD with 2 partitions

pctek
16-04-2005, 07:10 PM
reads as 127.99 gb ntfs, 104.89gb unallocated
Well then - it is 240. You just have one partition of 127gb and the rest hasn't been done.
127.99 +104.89 = 232.88 which is right.

phylip
16-04-2005, 07:13 PM
yes ill reformat but how do i do that when i cant boot to a floppy drive as it does not have one to boot to dos
any help once again please
sorry to be such a pain

Dannz
16-04-2005, 07:14 PM
Is your Windows Xp CD an OEM Cd (ie. it came with the computer)?
If it is you can boot from that.

Jen
16-04-2005, 07:15 PM
No point reformatting unless you have a install CD with SP1 (or SP2) slipped streamed onto it, or you will just be right back where you are now. You need to have XP with SP1/SP1 already incorporated when installing for the whole drive to be detected.

If you have a non-destructive partitioner such as PartitionMagic then you can now stretch out your XP partition to its full size, otherwise just do what has been suggested and now create a partition and format the unallocated space using the Disk Management tool.

Dannz
16-04-2005, 07:18 PM
As long as it is a recent(post 2001-2) OEM cd it will have SP1 (or SP2) slipstreamed onto it.

Speedy Gonzales
16-04-2005, 07:20 PM
Go to disk management as stated in the previous post, and highlight the unallocated 104 GB.

Then format it in NTFS. You'll have 2 partitions then.

FoxyMX
16-04-2005, 07:30 PM
It sounds like you need to enable 48-bit Logical Block Addressing (LBA) support. Have a look at this page (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/mosaddique/Working%20with%20Large%20Hard%20Drives.html) under "What if I have a hard drive which is greater than 137 GB?"

phylip
17-04-2005, 01:47 AM
thanks guys and gals for all your help i ended up merging the two drives and now his computer is going sweet im going to have to charge him for it though