PDA

View Full Version : Linux nonroot on line

sarum
13-04-2005, 08:37 PM
Hi there, I'm still trying to go on line while in non-root. (I can only go on line as root). I have found the following in a 'How To'
"...ensure that the file /etc/hosts.deny contains the following line:

ALL: ALL

Also add the following line to /etc/hosts.allow:

ALL: LOCAL"

So far I've done (in a terminal of course)
su
password To get me into root
cd /etc Then
ls To see the files; and there they are 'hosts.deny' and 'hosts.allow' but can someone tell me please how do I add the 'all: all' & 'all: local' to these files. You may have guessed that I'm a newbie (for rather a long time now - but I'll not give up). So please keep it like instructing an elderly beginer.
I've 2 computers; Fedora Core2 linked to my M.E. machine with the modem.
Thanks in advance
Sarum

johnd
13-04-2005, 09:16 PM
Sarum

There is something wrong here - you might have to explain a bit more - how do you know that you are on line as root?

Are you using kppp to get on line? If you are and you are logged in as a normal user, then it does require root privileges to run. You should get a key showing on your panel. You should click this to remove it so that other programs are then blocked from running with root priviledges. If you do this, you are not on line as root.

The hosts.deny file is for blocking hosts (other computers) from accessing your PC.

johnd
13-04-2005, 09:22 PM
The hosts.deny file is for blocking hosts (other computers) from accessing your PC.

I just wanted to point out that this does not replace a firewall. Use your in-built fireall or better still, Firestarter from http://www.fs-security.com/.

John

Graham L
14-04-2005, 12:50 PM
It's probably a good idea to have those lines on the .deny and .allow files.