PDA

View Full Version : Program already installed!



hamstar
29-03-2005, 03:05 AM
Hi,

Everytime my computer logs in, it pops up a small error message saying "Program Already Installed!"

Now I know it's for my hotkey, cos in the taskbar its called Chicony...

However I cannot find where this box is getting called from...

I checked all the startup folders, and the Run registry key contains nothing of the sort.

What could be making it do this?

OS is Win2k SP4, keyboard is Genius kb21 Comfy....

Cheers
Hamstar

beama
29-03-2005, 07:02 AM
try msconfig... startup tab
or type sysedit in the run box and see if its any of those system files
not sure if those two cmd will work in 2k (cant remember) but worth a try

I think the win.ini is the file you maybe looking for.
Look for............. run= <name_of_program>

hamstar
29-03-2005, 12:35 PM
nah nothing...

Dannz
29-03-2005, 12:40 PM
As far as i remember there is no startup "thing" in msconfig with Win2K but you can use http://www.mlin.net/StartupCPL.shtml

berryb
30-03-2005, 12:37 AM
How about you look under programs/startup folder. Maybe the install file is there??

hamstar
30-03-2005, 11:08 AM
yeah done all that but it still comes up....

hamstar
04-04-2005, 03:04 PM
still doing it....

tweak'e
04-04-2005, 03:13 PM
you will need to post what you have listed as running in startup.

BTW msconfig from XP works fine in w2k :)

Graham L
04-04-2005, 03:18 PM
That sort of message looks as if it's a left over from a failed installation (because the program was"Already Installed").;)

Does Task Manager (from Ctrl/Alt/Del) show an installer there?