PDA

View Full Version : port or firewall P2P problems



Mr Mr
16-03-2005, 12:03 PM
hi, im pretty new to ADSL and internet things and such, I have just got ADSL and i want to use P2P such as eMule and imesh and winMX. Im not sure which is best to use, and also the ones im trying to use now (winMX and eMule) wont let transfers happen. Is this because I need to open certain ports, or de-activate windowsMX firewall. i went into internet properties and turned off the firewall, but still it wont transfer. Also someone said that you have to do it some other way manually but i've got no idea.
also sorry about my english! :)

Mr Mr
16-03-2005, 06:29 PM
does anybody know what the problem can be?

gibler
16-03-2005, 06:52 PM
does your ADSL modem/router have a firewall too?

Mr Mr
18-03-2005, 09:09 PM
i dont know, its the one i got from telecom for free, d-link. is there a way to de-activate an adsl modem fire wall if it has one?