PDA

View Full Version : Firefox Question



Winston001
09-03-2005, 10:34 AM
I'm thinking of trying Firefox. Currently use Opera which I like.
I assume Firefox has tabbed browsing. But does it also have the ability to search favourites/bookmarks? I have about 400 so searching helps a lot.

Metla
09-03-2005, 10:43 AM
It does indeed, when you open the bookmarks there is a search bar placed conveniently right at the top, as you type in the letters it starts whittling them down.

beetle
09-03-2005, 11:29 AM
W001 why do you feel the need to change?????

is Opera not feeing the need enuf????? :p

:D

beetle

Winston001
09-03-2005, 01:19 PM
I have an ongoing problem with the processor running and reinstals have not solved it. An upgraded BIOS has helped. I'm wondering if Opera is the cause so I'll try Firefox.

Metla
09-03-2005, 01:26 PM
Didn't you get that looked at under warrenty?

Terry Porritt
09-03-2005, 02:51 PM
It does indeed, when you open the bookmarks there is a search bar placed conveniently right at the top, as you type in the letters it starts whittling them down.

I don't seem to have that feature in my Firefox, Metla. Is there a setting somewhere to get that?

Metla
09-03-2005, 02:58 PM
There are 2 ways of accessing the bookmarks within firefox,and I think the second way isn't on the taskbar by default.

The first is on the top most taskbar and is in the form of the word "Bookmarks"...This is where you bookmark new pages,sort the bookmarks and export them.You can also select a bookmark from here,....I presume this is the method you have been using.

The second way of doing it is via the icon taskbar,It takes the shape of a book,and when clicked the "book" opens and the bookmarks are displayed down the ledt hand side of the screen with the search bar at the top.

If this isn't on your taskbar,right click it, choose customise and a new window will open with alll the extra icons you can place there, You select the ones you want and drag them to where you want them situated.

I normally drag up the new tabs and bookmark icon on a fresh install.....

PaulD
09-03-2005, 03:00 PM
Ctrl+B

FoxyMX
09-03-2005, 04:01 PM
I'm thinking of trying Firefox. Currently use Opera which I like.Nooooooo Winston, please don't leave me!!! :eek:

How could you possibly even think about ditching Opera; it is the Rolls Royce of web browsers!


I assume Firefox has tabbed browsing. But does it also have the ability to search favourites/bookmarks? I have about 400 so searching helps a lot.Have yet to try Metla's trick but one of the biggest advantages of using Opera is the handling of its bookmarks. Searching them is just sooo easy.


I have an ongoing problem with the processor running and reinstals have not solved it. Have you tried the latest version, Beta 8? If not, I would highly recommend that you do as they have made some quite big changes. It will install into its own Opera Beta 8 folder so you can still keep your existing version in the meantime.

Edward
09-03-2005, 04:06 PM
How could you possibly even think about ditching Opera; it is the Rolls Royce of web browsers!

I didn't realise that rolls royces had ad banners inside them ;)

Terry Porritt
09-03-2005, 04:11 PM
Thanks Metla and PaulD, both methods work a treat :thumbs:

FoxyMX
09-03-2005, 04:16 PM
I didn't realise that rolls royces had ad banners inside them ;)
What ad banner??? :confused:

Oh, you mean that tiny little strip across the top of the screen up there, the size of a skinny little toolbar?

Pffft! I never notice it any more... and even if I did it's a tiny price to pay for such a fine product. Besides, it will be gone for good very soon. ;)

beetle
09-03-2005, 04:18 PM
Why?

You uninstalling Opera? only way itll disapeer isnt it????????


:p


beetle

FoxyMX
09-03-2005, 04:26 PM
Why?

You uninstalling Opera? only way itll disapeer isnt it????????
Go wash your mouth out, Girl !!! :p


It will distapeer after I pledge my undying love and support for them shortly. ;)

Myth
09-03-2005, 04:39 PM
Rolls Royce?

Yeah Opera is fast at loading pages.....

But the name Firefox sound wayyyy better :p

Besides, I like Firefox better, suits my needs, tried Opera and there was a few pages I frequent that I had probs with.. mainly MSN comms which Firefox handles

Winston001
09-03-2005, 06:48 PM
Didn't you get that looked at under warrenty?

Yes well....................

I've spent $200 odd having it checked and XP reinstalled - twice. I wouldn't mind but the problem is only reduced, not fixed. My laptop runs it's fan when it isn't doing any particular work. Heck, all I do is check the Web 99% of the time. The battery runs down to nothing when the machine sits in its bag (lid closed but still on) on the way home.

I don't think HP warranty covers software problems - and I can't prove that it is hardware. On the other hand, when this first occurred, HP replaced the hard drive and the cd writer. But a diagnostic did show a hard drive problem. Oddly enough, I can't find that tool now. I think it was in Dr Watson.

So Metla, I really don't know what to think. My experiments today show that the processor isn't running when I only use IE. :yuck: But even so, the machine was hot when I got it out a few minutes ago, and now I'm on mains power. Battery is down to 6%. Was nearly fully charged at 5:00pm