PDA

View Full Version : progs. not loading?



dotparsons
07-03-2005, 03:01 PM
Win 2000 prof.
H/D failure so had to re-install all programs.
All ran perfectly, except UPS communication with computer.
Re-installed CD without first uninstalling driver etc. It had provision for repairing.
After reboot, Win loaded perfectly as usual but although I can open a prog. I cannot see it's window on desktop or use it.
I know it is there as I have to " end" it before re-boots.
Any suggestions, please.
Dot

godfather
07-03-2005, 03:25 PM
A long shot, but I wonder if the reload has enabled dual screens, and you only have one connected?

That could mean that applications are "opening" on a non-existant screen.

In that case the task bar will show the programs that are running, right click on the task bar icon for the program and select "move". use the left or right arrow key to see if you can shift the running application into view.

pctek
07-03-2005, 05:07 PM
May be a silly idea but they are not loading minimised are they?

dotparsons
08-03-2005, 03:45 PM
Re a- replies to " progs. not visible/loading.
OK I tried Godfather's suggestion, but no and the one prog. that did load, sort off was not responding.
One Photo prog. did load normally and could be closed normally.
Most progs. are not visible and then the computer freezes/hangs.
Regarding the other reply, no they don't minimised.
Control panel loads but is invisible but briefly flashes on scree when " ended now".
Thanks. Look forward to more suggestions I can try.
Dot