PDA

View Full Version : bandwidth for skype?



Abdul~Alhazred
05-03-2005, 10:37 PM
I've only got a dial-up 56kps modem.
Considering using Skype for cheaper phone calls, but not sure if it's worth it with that connection speed.
Any comments, hopefully based on experience, gratefully appreciated.
Cheers,
Ab

Renmoo
05-03-2005, 11:54 PM
From what I read from various reviews and comments, I was told that Skype is one of the best VoIP (Voice over Internet Protocol) software. Skype works best on broadband connection but on dial-up, from my experience, it ain't got a good result. I myself currently using Skype on a dial-up connection and boy, when I talk to my friends from Malaysia, the quality is lagging. I won't really advise someone to use VoIP software unless they have a broadband connection. Anyway, don't use net2phone. Cheers :D

Chilling_Silence
06-03-2005, 12:16 AM
I would say its _possible_ to do it, but not desireable.

Ive found it uses on average approx 8-11KB/s, which is more than Dialup can offer.


Chill.

zqwerty
06-03-2005, 09:50 AM
Get this program, I think it is much better than Skype and it runs very well on dial up:

http://www.freshtel.net/firefly/

It has some very cool features as well.