PDA

View Full Version : Web Page Problems - Can Anyone help?



Brian
05-03-2005, 06:47 PM
Hi there guys and gals! :help:

I have a webpage and, since being shifted to a new Host server, there are some quirks with it. I sent an e-mail to the person hosting it and asked them for advice, but they never replied back...anyway here are the quirks:

The first one (and I know that you have told me how to rectify this one, but I have forgotten) is how to have the webpage automatically recache itself, so that when I upload a new version, it is this version that is displayed when I click on the "Refresh" button on my browser.

Also, I notice that whenever a page is refreshed, instead of keeping me on that page, I am taken back to the frontpage of my website (i.e. the "index.html") page. Is there anyway I can rectify this so that if I do refresh a page I am kept on the page that I refresh.

One final thing, I notice that when I go to different pages on my site, the URL in the "Address" Bar is http://www.god-zone.org. (No matter where I go to in the site, it is only this URL that is displayed). Is there anyway that I can change this so that this address is: http://www.god-zone.org/XXXX.html where "XXXX.html" is the unique name for the page visited (for example http://www.god-zone.org.nz/helldrill.html (http://www.god-zone.org.nz/helldrill.html) is displayed instead of http://www.god-zone.org.nz which is currently displayed)

Thanks for any advice anyone can offer! :thumbs:

gibler
05-03-2005, 07:56 PM
Well the major strange thing is that everything is stuck inside frames. I'm thinking this is probably something your host provider has done rather than you.

These meta tags ought to do it

<META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Expires" CONTENT="-1">

But I note that these aren't in the top-level of each page - because they are in frames. Therefore the refresh in the browser isn't refreshing the pages in the frame.

Ugh frames :angry

Brian
05-03-2005, 08:20 PM
Hi Gibler!

I know that when my website was moved, it didn't allow you to click on View -> Source like I was able to previously. Instead I was informed that if I wanted to view the source code I would have to click on the actual page and view the source code that way. :mad:

Do you know how I can go about removing the frames as I never wanted them...but I am currently stuck with it.

Once again...thanx! :thumbs:

ninja
05-03-2005, 09:09 PM
OK here's why:

www.god-zone.org.nz resolves to 203.97.91.19 which is a parking site for discount domains.

They are then using a server refresh to bump people off to 218.101.50.52 which is a Paradise cable address - which if I address directly, presents me with the homepage for Orari Web Services or something to that effect.

So basically people browse to www.god-zone.org.nz - a server at Discount Domains gets that request, and says ok, content for that site comes from http://218.101.50.52/godzone/ where it gets the content from, then displays under the domain name.

It's a cobbled up way of doing it and far from elegant. The people administering the server at Orari that your site is hosted on should have it configured properly, and the A record for your domain should point directly to their server rather than to the Discount Domains server and then eing bounced on.

Brian
06-03-2005, 12:05 PM
Hi Ninja!

I just sent an e-mail off to the person responsible for hosting my site, asking them if they can make the changes that you suggested in the last paragraph of your post...here is to hoping that it won't be too much of an issue!

Thanx,
Brian