PDA

View Full Version : Broad band in new zealand



techno
04-03-2005, 09:50 PM
Hi, im an N.C.E.A student doing a project on 'broadband in nz' could you plz help me by anwering someo of these questions.
Do you hav broadband at home? if not y? if u do what made you want to use it?
If broadband was cheaper in nz, would you switch to broadband?
How would you rate broadband in nz and your own country?
Thnx! :thumbs:

Prescott
04-03-2005, 10:03 PM
Do you hav broadband at home? if not y?

no,because it is not availiable in our area, and also because Telecom wont upgrade our lines in order to get broadband


if u do what made you want to use it?

n/a


If broadband was cheaper in nz, would you switch to broadband?

yes


How would you rate broadband in nz and your own country?

umm not too sure, firstly they should improve the ability to get cheap broadband in the country then it would be easier to rate it :)

hope that helps with your project :)

robsonde
04-03-2005, 10:08 PM
on dial up at this time, might go to ADSL in a few months.

Metla
04-03-2005, 10:17 PM
The state of broadband is now at an acceptable level as far as cost goes....The data caps are still pathetic.

Telescum stand to reap millions of dollars from people who don't understand how small their data cap is, they are in near shock when you explain a gig is a cd and a half worth.

Myth
04-03-2005, 10:23 PM
Do you hav broadband at home? if not y? if u do what made you want to use it?
No. Too expensive. Might get it in 6 months


If broadband was cheaper in nz, would you switch to broadband?
Probably would.


How would you rate broadband in nz and your own country?
Not that great at the moment anyway.... upload speed capped too heavily

hamstar
05-03-2005, 02:32 AM
Do you hav broadband at home? if not y?
No, can't afford it, i live in the whops anyway, would be be crap cos telecom SUCKS!!!
All that money and it can't upgrade our f**king lines!!! *** do we pay them for!!?


If broadband was cheaper in nz, would you switch to broadband?
Definitely...


How would you rate broadband in nz
Crap... ****e... they need to make it symetric (i.e. 256down,256up)
expensive
shoddy...

Our internet is worse than africas!

phylip
05-03-2005, 04:13 AM
on jetstream 2mb 10 gig plan no way i could go back to dial up now

chiefnz
05-03-2005, 07:54 AM
The state of broadband is now at an acceptable level as far as cost goes....The data caps are still pathetic. I agree totally, the pricing isn't bad at all, but the data caps are whats killing the broadband market.

I would say the comfort zone for acceptable broadband would probably be around maybe 3Mbits or more with no data cap. Personally if we got faster connections with no data caps for maybe $10 - $15 more that would be acceptable in my opinion.

cheers

chiefnz

R.M.
05-03-2005, 08:10 AM
Good morning Techno - I suspect that this group of people would give you "biased" results - people watching Press F1 are not really representative of the general population. Most of us use computers (and understand their general usage) more than the average "joe soap" - no offence meant!

I am happy with broadband, am paying for the cheapest Telecom option (1Gb cap for $40), as this is not much more than I first paid for "dial-up" connection when I first started using the internet. I find the 1 Gb enough for my needs, but then I'm not gaming or downloading lots of music.

Broadband may be less expensive in other countries, but they (other countries) pay more for other communications eg local calls are charged for in the UK. :2cents:

Cheers
R.M.

mark c
05-03-2005, 09:21 AM
Broadband isn't avail where I am and don't think I woulkd anyway coz I don't think the speed gain is proportionate to the price increase.

I'm a lite user.

Have a nice life. m

lazydog
05-03-2005, 11:24 AM
I'm on dailup.
Am thinking of going broadband soon.
The price and the caps of it are still a deterrent though.
If it was cheaper and better caps i would have it in a heartbeat.

Sue
05-03-2005, 03:05 PM
Dial up here.
Cost too high, data caps too low. Including both uploads and downloads in the data total is a killer.
If the cost came down, the caps were reasonable and the upload & download speeds were similar, I'd look at it again.

Cicero
05-03-2005, 04:42 PM
The state of broadband is now at an acceptable level as far as cost goes....The data caps are still pathetic.

Telescum stand to reap millions of dollars from people who don't understand how small their data cap is, they are in near shock when you explain a gig is a cd and a half worth.
To add to the matter,you will have noted this lot(lp)decided in there wisdom to not force telescum to unbundle. :mad:

hamstar
05-03-2005, 06:30 PM
New zealand doesn't have broadband... we have jetstream ;)

International Standards state that Broadband is actually 512kbps and upwards.

So unless you got 1Mbit/2Mbit you've just got the slightly faster internet that telecom likes to call jetstream...

I like to call it jetslow, or jetsuck..as in jetsuck-up-all-your-cash :D

sal
05-03-2005, 06:46 PM
We are on 2mbit/10GB. Flatmate works for Telecom, so it's perks. Speeds OK, faster would be better, of course. Data caps just a killer for some.

Murray P
05-03-2005, 06:58 PM
I voted for broadband only because the 128kb option wasn't there. We're still way behind on speed and the caps pathetic.

Big John
05-03-2005, 07:49 PM
As the Tui ads say "Broadband" "Yeah Right!"

Nomad
05-03-2005, 08:14 PM
IMO I think the response and stats that you get on this site are from those who are more likely to spend a bit more money on computer stuff thus more pple are likely than the average person to subscribe with broadband.

For me, I am on dialup. I use it most for forums, auctions and learning from webpages, MSN typing chatting and email so its sufficient. I would like to have it of course but due to the price of it and what I use it for its not a good deal for me personally.

I would like it to come down to $25/month for a 512k connection so webcam conference can be an option. At the mo, 56k is alright for mic conversations. At uni I had really fast internet so these 256k or even 512k is bit of a childs play at such a price. Back then I could download 500MB in 30mins with no capping costing at free while the LAN jack costed me $10/month to my bedroom of my residence :D Only drawback was I couldn't use all the protocols so not online games or online conference but ICQ worked via HTTPS, MSN had to go via a v unstable HTTP Tunneling software.

If I had to get broadband, I think I would just pay the few bucks more and get 2Mbit option. But now, I would wait for the price drop and consider 512k or faster when the time comes.

brandysson
06-03-2005, 07:06 PM
hI, I have had it for about two weeks. First week I left it on but found some one hacked in and used up some of my allotted 1g uploading. Telecom was sympathetic but suggested I unplug the modem every time I log off! I did not think that was good enough coming from a reputable company. Amateurish, I say. But what can I do they are the cheapest and they do not have any completion, price wise. I pay $1015 with sky digital and land line plus call waiting. Service seems ok if I can believe what they say

brandysson
06-03-2005, 07:07 PM
hI I have had it for about two weeks

Metla
06-03-2005, 07:17 PM
I would suggest you purchase a better modem/router, One with al least an on/off switch, or even better...one with an inbuilt firewall.

Granted its an additional cost but it maybe cheaper and less stress in the long run.

tedheath
06-03-2005, 10:46 PM
I have xtra broadband, 1g cap is gone in a few days.
The speed not much more than dialup.
Altogether a waste of time and money at the moment
The problem is that Gatling chick is useless. They need a techo as CEO of telecom so they can sort the problems out.


tedheath

Agent_24
06-03-2005, 11:27 PM
Do you hav broadband at home? if not y? if u do what made you want to use it?
Yes - I have it because to 56k is annoying, It allows phone at the same time (total cost = less than just getting a 2nd line), also because it's cheaper than before, and the free connection and modem deal from telecom isn't bad either


How would you rate broadband in nz and your own country?
certainly better than 56k, although the caps and stuff is stupid

Ariel
07-03-2005, 06:19 AM
Do you hav broadband at home? if not y? if u do what made you want to use it?
Yes I do Have Broadband at home


If broadband was cheaper in nz, would you switch to broadband?

Its not as cheap as dial up, its worth it if you can earn more than you pay for the connection on the net.


How would you rate broadband in nz and your own country?

Umm, 8/10

:)

Strommer
07-03-2005, 10:22 AM
Techno - be sure to put in your assignment the reasons people use broadband. That is, for what purpose do they need higher speed internet? A couple of weeks ago someone here posted the guff about broadband in Korea - which has the most high speed internet in the world. Apparently most all users download (illegal music and videos) and are gamers. Other surveys include porn with broadband. Your teacher may discount gaming, but I believe PC World magazine has highlighted that gamers actually are the biggest (or nearly the 1st) driving force of the PC industry; so indirectly gamers have their place even though it is 'merely entertainment'.

As for me, I would get broadband if it was near the price of dial up; I am not a gamer, music downloader, etc., and my dial up goes at a good pace since I have a web filter in place.

Nomad
07-03-2005, 10:34 AM
For normal pple, some may not do heaps of downloads, play games or such. To avoid tying up the phoneline the (some) of the jetstream packages are not bad for that reason. That they are not more expensive (or not by much) than an extra phoneline and a ISP dialup subscription. JS from $40 is it?

For pple whose phoneline is not so important, some pple don't think its worth it. But yeah, looking at the results, I doubt75% of the nation uses broadband. Maybe the guys on this forum does... Just make sure you highlight that point of your target population, or your teacher may ask does some questions :D

Prescott
07-03-2005, 10:20 PM
a second line does the job for me until our lines are upgraded