PDA

View Full Version : suggestions for for new router,switch,hub or whatever...



Ravage
04-03-2005, 12:16 AM
Hi
I'm about to make the plunge and upgrade to broadband,
We have 2 computers in the house and would like them both connected to the asdl modem which I assume will require a router or some such thing.
Can anyone recommend a suitable product that they have found user-friendlyl/reliable and not too expensive.
We both run winXP home and live in christchurch.

Thanks
Ravage :)

Murray P
04-03-2005, 12:39 AM
Dynalink, Linksys, Billion external routers (+modem) are all ok. Get one with a built in ethernet switch if you don't already have one.

I have a personal preference for Dynalink and ethernet but if the comp's aren't too far apart, the wals not too thick and you don't mind a drop in bandwidth, wireless is an option albeit a bit more expensive. Generally avoid PCI and USB ADSL routers although having one with dual capability (ethernet + WiFi or USB) can be handy in some circumstances.

Rob99
04-03-2005, 01:06 AM
This (http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=33&scid=35&prid=601)

Murray P
04-03-2005, 01:18 AM
WRT54G (http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-spec.asp?pid=113527) at Ascent for $156.25 incl GST is pretty darned cheap too, I'm impressed. you'd need to get an ADSL modem and wireless cards for each PC and, I believe ethernet is still more reliable and it's certainly more secure.

Ravage
04-03-2005, 02:35 AM
Thanks guys.
Not looking at wireless at the moment, just using crossover cables (I hope).
Also feel free to mention brands that I should stay away from :)
Cheers
Ravage

BassMan
04-03-2005, 06:58 AM
Can anyone recommend a suitable product that they have found user-friendlyl/reliable and not too expensive. We both run winXP home and live in christchurch. Ravage :)
Dick Smith have an ADSL modem/router with 4 fast ethernet ports and a USB2 port for the princely sum of $117, including GST. I've been using mine for 2 years with nary a hiccup. If you want to take a look, below is the link.

http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/42274fce00eca00c273fc0a87f9906e8/Product/View/XH1149

Cheers.

E|im
04-03-2005, 08:14 AM
This (http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=33&scid=35&prid=601)
Why not just get this (http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-spec.asp?pid=335058)? Would save having to buy an ADSL modem on top of the other one and it's all in one.


Thanks guys.
Not looking at wireless at the moment, just using crossover cables (I hope).
Also feel free to mention brands that I should stay away from :)
Cheers
Ravage
Well that one above is cheap enough to just get it anyway. Though if you really don't want wireless something like this (http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-spec.asp?pid=337103), this (http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-spec.asp?pid=334151) or this (http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-spec.asp?pid=336757) would do nicely. There are a few others around that are quite good but I won't list them all.

Brands to stay away from are D-Link and DSE. Basically you get what you pay for and these companies put poor components in and use horrible buggy firmware. Would you pay for a router made by monkeys that can't code for ****? Really not worth wasting your time on at all. People that don't have any problems with them probably aren't doing anything advanced with them to cause problems or are DSE/D-Link salesmen.

Mary
04-03-2005, 08:38 AM
A modem/router combo is the way to go, they make it very simple to share an internet connection.

I have a Dynalink RTA220, and have found it very simple to install and use. It's sharing my connection at home to 4 PCs.
I see Dynalink also have an install offer going, haven't really checked it out but might be worth looking at if your not too sure what your doing.
see their website http://www.dynalink.co.nz

Tom McB
04-03-2005, 09:04 AM
With these 4 ethernet ports+wifi B/G switches/routers, is it possible to temporarily disable the wifi part and hook up in wired mode? Not quite ready for wifi (but soon) and didn't want to broadcast my traffic.

Ravage
04-03-2005, 11:26 AM
cheers
some of those look very promising.
I'll see if I can find a computer store in chch who stocks some of those items at a reasonable price.

Thanks
Ravage

E|im
04-03-2005, 11:36 AM
With these 4 ethernet ports+wifi B/G switches/routers, is it possible to temporarily disable the wifi part and hook up in wired mode?
Yep. Should be a function in the web interface somewhere.