PDA

View Full Version : General Help Needed With Web Graphic Designing Using Gimp2.2

vinref
28-02-2005, 02:56 PM
I am designing a 468 x 60 pixel web banner consisting of a graphic and the site name, using Gimp2.2. I have no access to other graphic design applications. I have little experience with designing graphics, but I am learning fast. However, there are some questions that I have and I hope someone reasonably familiar with designing can answer.

1. Can I produce the design on another template, say 1024 x 768 pixel, and re-scale it without loss of quality to fit a 468 x 60 pixel template?

2. What format should I design in? I am told to use a scaleable vector format so that I can modify and convert the graphic without loss of information. I use EPS.

3. From the conversions I have done from EPS to JPEG, GIF and PNG, it seems that there is very little between them in size and image quality. The graphic is very simple and consists of only two colours, but the files for the same graphic look rather big - JPEG is 8829 B, GIF is 8605 B, and the PNG is 8561 B. The source EPS file is 20266 B. Can they be compressed for use on a website?

Thanks in advance.

Murray P
28-02-2005, 03:44 PM
I am designing a 468 x 60 pixel web banner consisting of a graphic and the site name, using Gimp2.2. I have no access to other graphic design applications. I have little experience with designing graphics, but I am learning fast. However, there are some questions that I have and I hope someone reasonably familiar with designing can answer.

1. Can I produce the design on another template, say 1024 x 768 pixel, and re-scale it without loss of quality to fit a 468 x 60 pixel template?

2. What format should I design in? I am told to use a scaleable vector format so that I can modify and convert the graphic without loss of information. I use EPS.