PDA

View Full Version : Network cable



lazydog
28-02-2005, 10:54 AM
My mate brought me a network cable.
How can i tell if its a crossover cable or oneway cable?.
I'm having trouble setting up my network and want to know if this could be the problem.
Cheers Lazydog

Terry Porritt
28-02-2005, 11:02 AM
Maybe the easiest way is to put the cable ends side by side and look at the colours of the wires in the plugs , assuming the plug ends are transparent. For a straight through patch cable there will be a one to one correspondence of the wires going to the connectors.

For a crossover cable a pair of the wires will be reversed, but sorry can't remember the exact details off the top of my head.

lazydog
28-02-2005, 11:27 AM
Ok thanks for the reply.
Will have a look to see which way the wires are wired :rolleyes:
Cheers lazydog

johnboy
28-02-2005, 11:40 AM
Here is one wiring diagram for a cross over cable
http://www.johnscloset.net/wiring/crossover.html
hth

KatiMike
28-02-2005, 11:53 AM
some cross-over cables have red connectors vs the "usual " black ones for straight through cables

johnboy
28-02-2005, 12:03 PM
this one here has both crossover and straight

http://www.aptcommunications.com/ncode.htm
hth

lazydog
28-02-2005, 12:16 PM
This one was made at a shop. Unfortunately the guy who brought it for me is overseas at the mo. Its just a white cable with clear plugs on either end. Will look and see how its wired.
Ok, if i hold the two ends together, side by side, with the backs (not the sides with the clips) facing me, the wires going from left to right are like this;

1: orange/white, orange, green/white, blue, blue/white, green, brown/white, brown.

2: green/white, green, orange/white, blue, blue/white, orange, brown/white, brown.

Does that tell anyone anything?.
Is it a crossover?
Cheers lazydog

pheonix
28-02-2005, 01:31 PM
Crossover :D

Terry Porritt
28-02-2005, 01:32 PM
Yes, that is a cross-over cable :thumbs:

lazydog
28-02-2005, 02:00 PM
Cool, Thanks.
Now i've just got to figure out why my win98 computer wont network to my xp home.
Think i'll leave it alone for a day or two then start again from scratch. My head is spinning. To much input! :@@:
Thanks all.

FoxyMX
28-02-2005, 04:04 PM
Now i've just got to figure out why my win98 computer wont network to my xp home.
Think i'll leave it alone for a day or two then start again from scratch.
This FAQ (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=49958) may be of some help. It also has some links to networking help sites.