PDA

View Full Version : Compaq presario R3000



gum digger
17-02-2005, 02:13 PM
Hi
My laptop which is compaq presario r3000 keeps restarting after the windows XP loading screen apears. The screen at the very start looks like this http://www.theeldergeek.com/images/XP%20Home%20Setup%20Graphic%20II/dd.gif
the system restarts to menu where it says we apologize for the inconvenience, but windows did not start successfully. a redent hardware change or software change might have caused this....blabla
Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Networking
Safe Mode with Command Prompt

Last Known Good Configuration (your most recent settings that worked) Start Windows Normally
start windows normally
i have been on everysingle option but same thing happens.
can anyone help.

Speedy Gonzales
17-02-2005, 02:28 PM
Have u installed anything on it lately?? Drivers? software?? that u think may have caused this prob?? Have u added any new hardware/cards to the laptop??

gum digger
17-02-2005, 02:47 PM
nope no hardware, may have done software.

gum digger
18-02-2005, 07:34 AM
Looks like there are no solutions, wel can i atleast backup my data and format. it has a dvd writer init. but i dont think i can install another OS by partioning. any alternatives.
plze i need help. lots of data to backup

Jen
18-02-2005, 08:13 AM
You have a couple of choices here. First you can try a repair of XP which should leave all your personal data untouched, or you could do a parallel install of a new XP onto the same partition that XP already uses and use that to rescue off your data. You don't say what version of XP you have, but here are some links for XP Home. If you have Pro, then go to the Pro page and choose the gudies from the list.

Microsoft's Windows XP Home Repair Install step by step (http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winxphome/installxpcdrepair/index.htm)

Microsoft's Windows XP Home Windows Parallel Install step by step (http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winxphome/installxpwindowsparallel/index.htm)

Windows XP Pro page (http://www.windowsreinstall.com/indexwinxppro.htm)

gum digger
20-02-2005, 04:57 PM
The parallel installs are done when ur in windows. but right now i cant get into windows. can i run parallel setup using 98se or me? i hav xp home installed rite now.

gum digger
22-02-2005, 09:57 PM
Like i said before i cant run the paraller setup until iam in windows. i just want to back up few photos thats all. is there anyway i can backup it bocz reparing isnt helpping, samething is happening. is there any dos backup utility. which will backit up on a cd. plze give me some options guys.