PDA

View Full Version : Opinions Please On Two Socket A cpus



Rpg_pro
13-02-2005, 04:33 PM
Ok, once again i need you guys Opinion. :thumbs:

I want to get a AMD 3200+ CPU for my socket A motherboard

I have two options to me atm.
1/ Buy this Athlon 2500+ 333fsb and overclock it to 3200+ around $130 - $150 2nd hand (the one im looking at has been overclocked to 3200+ before)

2/ Buy An Athlon 3200+ 400fsb for $350 + $380 New

Also if i buy the 2500+ cpu and overclock ill need to buy a fan/heatsink would this one do? it says in the description up to 3200+, but an overclocked cpu to 3200 will pump out more heat than a real 3200+ right?

http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/420ecb5d0c8b6578273fc0a87f99073a/Product/View/XH6846

Thanks

Dragonslayer
13-02-2005, 08:12 PM
Ok, once again i need you guys Opinion. :thumbs:

I want to get a AMD 3200+ CPU for my socket A motherboard

I have two options to me atm.
1/ Buy this Athlon 2500+ 333fsb and overclock it to 3200+ around $130 - $150 2nd hand (the one im looking at has been overclocked to 3200+ before)

2/ Buy An Athlon 3200+ 400fsb for $350 + $380 New

Also if i buy the 2500+ cpu and overclock ill need to buy a fan/heatsink would this one do? it says in the description up to 3200+, but an overclocked cpu to 3200 will pump out more heat than a real 3200+ right?

http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/420ecb5d0c8b6578273fc0a87f99073a/Product/View/XH6846

Thanks
Obviously the Overclocked one will be the one to go for, as long as it is stable at those speeds.
What fan does the person use that is overclocking it to 3200+ speed now?, I assume it would generate more heat, because generally to overclock, you have to increase the CPU voltage, and therefore the Heat output goes up.

How are you going to overclock?, Increase the FSB speed?, if so, you may be able to get 200Mhz out of it anyway, and then it'll be the same as the 3200+ performance wise anyway.
Make sure it's stable at those speeds though.

Tux
13-02-2005, 08:33 PM
if you were to overclock it, i would suggest a zalman passive cooler,

PaulD
13-02-2005, 08:38 PM
My XP2500 runs at 200 FSB without any change in voltage and I'd guess that's very common, not even "overclocking" really. I've heard that AMD sold very few genuine XP3200.

Rpg_pro
13-02-2005, 09:42 PM
My XP2500 runs at 200 FSB without any change in voltage and I'd guess that's very common, not even "overclocking" really. I've heard that AMD sold very few genuine XP3200.

May i ask what fan & heatsink your using?

PaulD
14-02-2005, 07:50 AM
Thermalright 900 purely to have a quieter slow fan. The standard AMD heatsink was the same for XP2500 and XP3200 although the suppliers did vary. The heat sinks with a copper slug shrunk into the base may be better than the ones with a base held on by screws. It also depends on how good the airflow in the case is.

SolMiester
14-02-2005, 01:47 PM
I myself would be concerned about the life left in the chip. While the chip may be stable at your 200+ OC, it decreases the life dramatically. :groan:

I would prefer a new chip, that way, you no exactly how high it has been pushed, for how long.....

PaulD
14-02-2005, 02:43 PM
I myself would be concerned about the life left in the chip. While the chip may be stable at your 200+ OC, it decreases the life dramatically. :groan:

I would prefer a new chip, that way, you no exactly how high it has been pushed, for how long.....

I think that's being far too pessimistic.

The AMD XP2500 and XP3200 are physically the same except for the label and the link that sets default FSB. If you can get a 2500 to run as a 3200 without having to raise the voltage, it will have the same life expectancy as a 3200 (ie far longer than the computer).

Rpg_pro
14-02-2005, 07:17 PM
Ok looks like im going with the overclock option, but now i was told i should get a mobile amd cpu because they are always "unlocked". I know the Normal amd cpu is "unlocked" because the guy whos selling it as had it at 3200+ before, would it matter which one i get?

PaulD
14-02-2005, 07:51 PM
AFAIK the AMD mobile CPU aren't sold by NZ retailers. If you're buying just a CPU 2nd hand the question is always why is the seller getting rid of it?

Murray P
14-02-2005, 08:11 PM
AMD MP CPU's are listed on PriceSpy (http://www.pricespy.co.nz/#g65) though the prices suggest you'd be better off buying a 3200+

Rpg_pro
14-02-2005, 08:27 PM
still, the 3200s are 180 odd bucks more, when i can just over clock a 2500 and get the same speed, but now im looking at a 3000+ mobile and overclocking it to 2.5ghz, I cant make up my mind lol :confused:

PaulD
14-02-2005, 08:34 PM
They are MultiProcessor for 2cpu boards etc not mobile.