PDA

View Full Version : Some basic advice

jinky67
03-02-2005, 12:33 PM
Hi all, im posting just for some basic advice, i am a novice/intermediate pc user, i know how to manage my pc and keep it running smoothly etc.When it comes to the errors warnigs etc {technical jargon} i havent really a clue.Although lately its been running a bit poorly, im pretty sure i dont have a virus etc, its just that ive been putting my system under a bit of pressure and my hdd is filling up rapidly due to some P2p program.

Im feel i need to upgrade my system and want to keep the price down as much as possible.

Right now i have, P3 666, 256 ram, 80gig Hdd.

Im into gaming,as well as other gerenraal use, cd burning, web use etc. so im after a 3.2 or an athlon 3200 {*Whats the differences, as i can save myself 35 with the athlon rather than the pentium}.

Id lke to get alot more ram as the P2p program i use give it a bit of a battering, i have 256 right now,how does RAM go together in the mainboard,how many slots are there, say i wanted 512, is it as simple as buying another 256 stick and slotting it in, so they would both make up 512 combined,or do i have to buy a 512 stick on its own? {* And is it possible to put in a stick of 512 and a stick of 256 giving me 768 of ram is that possible or does it jump to 1024?}

If i did go and buy a new processor with motherboard{*another part which i havent a clue about, all the pricelists ive seen which show mainboards is all just letters and numbers,very confusing, which one do i need !!! :@@: ???}... and bought more ram, would it be fairly staightforward to stick it all together and get it going or is this kind of thing STRICTLY for technicians etc? Do i have to go into BIOS and configure settings etc {which id aviod like a bullet in the head.}
Again im doing this to save myself some cash rather than paying money for someone to install it all.

Hmm, think thats all for now.

Thanks for any help & advice. Cheers !!

Metla
03-02-2005, 12:46 PM