PDA

View Full Version : Urgent Jetstream Problem



Catweazle
26-01-2005, 02:31 PM
I've been shanghaied into trying to get a friends' work computers' jetstream connection happening, but not having dealt with broadband I am a bit unsure of several things.

The comps connected with a DSE router which shows up in the system tray as connected (via LAN connection), as it should. Pinging shows everything is working fine, but everytime someone tries to access a webpage, IE tries to connect with the previous dialup connection. On the IE options/connections page, there is no entry for using the jetstream connection, only the dialup one. How do I get IE to recognise the LAN connection as the default?

Does this need internet connection sharing or something?

Another thing, the LTSA software he is using for handling warrants states that the routers firewall should be off. Is this safe? Surely there must be a way of setting up a port for it to use? It's the only operating firewall on there. The XP firewall is disabled.

Any help on this would be MOST appreciated.

ninja
26-01-2005, 02:40 PM
Tools --> Internet Options --> Connections --> Never dial a connection.

Catweazle
26-01-2005, 02:43 PM
I tried that. It didn't seem to make any difference. =(

Graham L
26-01-2005, 02:52 PM
Shouldn't the gateway setting point at the ADSL device?