PDA

View Full Version : weird boot up issues



Tux
20-01-2005, 11:38 PM
hi, running win xp prof, sp2, on an athlon 64 blah blah. anyways, when i boot up, it often comes to boot up, the screen (17" lcd) changes shades of black, i can then faintly see the windows xp startup screen (the one with the logo an dthe scrolling status bar), then it reboots itself, and asks if i want to go into safe mode, or boot normally, or go with the last known safe configuration, its really weird and annoying, so any help would be appreciated

tweak'e
21-01-2005, 10:47 AM
so can it boot into safe mode?

what changes have you done to the system just before this started happening?

Tux
21-01-2005, 11:51 AM
yes it boots fine after it gets to the that black screen, with all the different boot options, i havent made any remarkable changes, its a brand new pc. only just set up (well i built it, and now im setting up my programs), thanks

tweak'e
21-01-2005, 12:18 PM
have you turned off the automatic restart setting?

the odds are its crashing on startup and autorestarting. turn off the auto restart and it should produse an error message.

Tux
21-01-2005, 08:15 PM
would that be located in the bios, or in the control panel? Thanks

Tux
22-01-2005, 12:33 PM
i htink i may have found the source of my head ache, some how, my ati radeon 9600xt 128mb Bravo has been installed twice, once as a pci and the second as agp, how would i go about disabling the pci version as i am sure that is what is causing the conflict
Thanks a heap in advance

Tux
22-01-2005, 01:06 PM
help?

Speedy Gonzales
22-01-2005, 01:10 PM
If one card is internal/onboard and u put another videocard in an AGP/PCI slot, disable it somewhere in the BIOS (the onboard one).

Tux
22-01-2005, 10:54 PM
ok, i have managed to disable the pci version so hopefully it has managed to fix itself

Prescott
23-01-2005, 09:14 AM
yup, i had this problem when i upgraded from intergrated graphics to a graphics card, i figured out that it was a driver clash, man i wish i knew drivercleaner existed before i done the reformat...... i also had to turn the intergrated video off in the bios and use agp