PDA

View Full Version : Access Windows partitions from Linux

Mike
19-01-2005, 10:24 PM
I just installed FC3 (I found some spare CDs ;)), and created a Openoffice document which I wanted to save to one of my Windows partitions, however I couldn't find any. I ended up having to email it to myself...

Where do I look for Windows partitions while in Linux? I thought I had to mount them or something, but nothing I tried worked.

I have 3 Windows partitions - 2x NTFS (both 40gb) 1x FAT32, plus Linux on 12gb (3 partitions I think?)

Any help appreciated :)

Mike.

beama
19-01-2005, 10:49 PM
Mike
I take it you can ping the machines
You also need Samba installed
Im not sure about FC3 but FC2 was easy to setup. Once Samba was installed and configured I just used unc pathing ( \\computername\sharename) in the properties of a what technically in linux speak is a symbolic link, on my desktop (shortcut) to access the windows share.
Jen or Chill will hopefully see this as Im still learning about Samba (the hard way :D)

johnd
19-01-2005, 10:57 PM
As I read it - SAMBA is not needed since all partitions are on the same PC are they not?

As root, use fdisk -l /dev/hda (assuming all partitions are on the same (primary) drive). This will tell you which partitions are which.

I think you need to install extra software to mount and use a NTFS partition. FAT32 is out of the box.

If you have a directory called (say) /mnt/fat32, and the FAT32 parition is (say) /dev/hda5, then as root issue this command:

mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /mnt/fat32

Hope that helps.

John

johnd
19-01-2005, 10:59 PM
[QUOTE=johnd]
I think you need to install extra software to mount and use a NTFS partition. FAT32 is out of the box.

/QUOTE]
See:
http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/index.html

vinref
19-01-2005, 11:05 PM