PDA

View Full Version : How about a 64-bit FAQ? Im thinking of taking the plunge....



Chilling_Silence
19-01-2005, 12:05 AM
Greetings,

After a recent issue with my laptop screen, and still having $400 to pay on the sucker, Im debating selling up, as well as the current 800mhz desktop Im using and moving over to 64-bit!

Ive been looking at the following two items in particular:
http://qmb.co.nz/pk.aspx?217
http://qmb.co.nz/pk.aspx?188

However Im curious about the differences between socket 754 and socket 939.

Im also interested to know how people find performance in relation to current Pentium 4 CPU's.

This here seems to say that they perform pretty well in the field of compiling applications (Which I'll be doing a lot of):
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=277987

And this looks interesting for myself too, so I thought I'd mention it:
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=221361

Athlon64 - Worth the upgrade now?
And whats up with the two different socket sets?

Many thanks


Chill.

Zygar
19-01-2005, 07:02 AM
Socket 754- doomed to the budget line
Socket 939- the new technology

Also, 939 supports dual channel, socket 754 does not.

Metla
19-01-2005, 09:14 AM
The fastest Athlon 64 available in the 754-pin design is a 3700+, me thinks even if one purchased a Athlon 3000 then a 3700 futher down the line it would be a sweeeeeeeet upgrade,and at that most boards don't have scope for a cpu upgrade of that magintude.

bartsdadhomer
19-01-2005, 09:44 AM
My father has just come back from Aussie with a new M/board, Athlon64 3200+CPU, new hard drives etc. & wants me to whack it together when we go up in the weekend
I have to admit to knowing stuff all about 64.
Are there going to be any issues installing XP Pro & all his apps, will they still run ok?

~sy~
19-01-2005, 10:57 AM
My father has just come back from Aussie with a new M/board, Athlon64 3200+CPU, new hard drives etc. & wants me to whack it together when we go up in the weekend
I have to admit to knowing stuff all about 64.
Are there going to be any issues installing XP Pro & all his apps, will they still run ok?
Everything should be as normal.

But as to Chill, I think compared with the Intel Pentium 4, you might be better going with the AMD as I know you mostly use Linux. Therefore, at least you'll be able to make use of the its 64bits capability. On the other hand, if you were to convert back to MS ;) -for which I'd congratulate you on :D, it's Intel all the way :p

Chilling_Silence
19-01-2005, 04:00 PM
I like the sounds of that Sy... And you know me, Im gonna have fun fun fun optimising the hell outa the system ;)

Prescott
19-01-2005, 04:28 PM
but you wont be able to overclock it if you use linux though

Chilling_Silence
19-01-2005, 04:33 PM
So what? I'd rather have an OS thats _totally_ optimised for my PC rather than some generic one with a ton of extra crap that I _dont_ want in there!

Overclocking... I'll live without it ;)