PDA

View Full Version : Help! computer too lag!



cheowei
16-01-2005, 07:43 PM
Recently, I just reinstalled my windows. Since then, my com became very lag and i cant evn play some of my previous games. Simple games like maple story also become very laggy. My com is 1.7ghz but 64 mb ram. Previously, all the games were still working well.

Zygar
16-01-2005, 07:51 PM
Have you installed the latest version of your graphics card drivers? Your computer will perform very poorly until you install your graphics card driver. What model is your graphics card?

Speedy Gonzales
16-01-2005, 07:52 PM
What version of windows are you using?? I'm hope you're not using XP. As this will be why. You havent got enough memory/ram.

george12
16-01-2005, 07:59 PM
Dude, he's talking about games he had before. I mean, I agree with you but that's not the issue here.

Drivers. Install drivers for every component that can take em, even if Windows already has them. Generic drivers slow down PCs.

Speedy Gonzales
16-01-2005, 08:16 PM
I can see that doh

cheowei
16-01-2005, 08:36 PM
Thanks for your replies. Im using winxp. i'm using GeForce3 titanium series 200. I can't detect what when wrong as control panel din't indicate any of the graphic devices going wrong. I used the installation cd for the graphics card. Could it be some configuration problem ?

Speedy Gonzales
16-01-2005, 08:48 PM
I'm surprised that u can even get as far as getting into Windows!

I would get more ram. 64 mb isnt enough just to run XP let alone any games.

cheowei
16-01-2005, 08:55 PM
Im using the GeForce3 titanium series 200. I have installed it using the cd. Now all files even opening of control panel also takes abit of time. Prior to the installation of windows, i did not experience such problems. One of my games would even experience error when i went in.

Speedy Gonzales
16-01-2005, 08:57 PM
Its not the videocard thats the prob. XP needs a minimum of 128 mb or more of memory. Or you will notice that its slow as a snail.

You might be experiencing errors, coz u havent got enough memory to run the game and XP.

Prescott
16-01-2005, 09:20 PM
i dont think he understands you speedy,
cheowei: download everest (http://www.lavalys.com/products/overview.php?pid=1&lang=en&pageid=1) this will tell you all about your pc and how much system ram you have.

cheowei
16-01-2005, 10:21 PM
I used the Everest program and found out that my system memory is 256mb ddr ram while my video adaptor is using the Geforce3 tit series 200 (64mb ram only). What do u think might be the problem?

Rob99
16-01-2005, 11:21 PM
Right click My Computer

Advanced - Performance - Settings

Adjust for best performance

Then tick the last option if you want the XP look

Prescott
17-01-2005, 09:17 AM
do a full virus and spybot scan