PDA

View Full Version : amigas need monitor help



Morgenmuffel
16-01-2005, 10:38 AM
I have recently been given a couple of old amiga A500s? without monitors.

I know absolutly nothing about amigas, is it possible to get adaptors (read cheaply) for them so I can use them with an old pc monitor or a tv (preferably the pc monitor) as I'm guessing there aren't any amiga monitors around anymore (in my price range)

Anyhelp would be appreciated
Thanks
Nigel

ninja
16-01-2005, 10:44 AM
*vague memory*

Don't they just use RCA leads? Could use an old TV.

HadO
16-01-2005, 11:03 AM
You can either...

Repin the video output on the amiga, buy/find a converter (scan doubler) or just use a TV.

Later model amigas had the converters installed from factory but not the A500.

Speedy Gonzales
16-01-2005, 12:29 PM
They use an RGB connection. The RCA inputs can be used as a monitor for a video/dvd, well anything that has RCA for video out. I have the 1084s here and the cable.

Morgenmuffel
16-01-2005, 12:49 PM
I may sound a little obtuse here but

RCA leads are the same as AV leads right?

if I have some av leads I can just hook it up to a tv using the av ports (red yellow and white) or am I totally off the track

thanks

Speedy Gonzales
16-01-2005, 01:08 PM
Yup, RCA cables are the same as AV leads.

BUT the RCA sockets on an Amiga monitor are for input NOT output...

1 RCA for video (the video comes from a source like DVD/VCR - NOT from the monitor out to another input like RCA input on a TV).

The other 2 RCAs for right/left channels, for sound.