PDA

View Full Version : Wireless LAN



notechyet
12-01-2005, 04:24 PM
Hello to everyone

I am interested on installing a wireless LAN (compatible for broadband)between my neighbour and me with an areal distance of 400 lineal meters. There are only a few landscaping trees in between that hinder the direct sight.
Does someone know the ins and outs to do this and which machine would be suitable.

A reply is very much appreciated

Thanks


Gion

Rob99
12-01-2005, 05:20 PM
Two wireless lan cards in two different computers,one at your place and one at your mates, and a chainsaw to chop down the tree.

karter16
12-01-2005, 05:28 PM
It sounds possible, I know up to 30Km has been achieved using special antenna's, obviously not at a quick connection speed.

After a quick look on the net this seems to be about the average speed to distance ratio for 802.11B

Max Distance of 11Mbps: 100m
Max Distance of 5.5Mbps: 200m
Max Distance of 2Mbps: 300m
Max Distance of 1Mbps: 400m

Obviously some will be better than others and there may even be some routers specifically designed for longer distances.

Hope this helps...

Rob99
12-01-2005, 05:40 PM
With home made Cantenna's or dish areials, which cost around $10 to make each, the range is in Kms for line of sight.
If you do not have line of sight you could be wasting you money and time.

agent
12-01-2005, 05:48 PM
If you've got money to burn, take a look at Belkin's Pre-N wireless networking equipment (http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatSectionView.process?IWAction=Load&Merchant_Id=&Section_Id=202625). It's designed to give greater distance and speeds, but at the moment they only have a router and a laptop card available.

I'm not sure if you can use normal 802.11a/b/g equipment with the Pre-N technology, but I think you can.

However, you should note two things that have been said - trees play hell with wireless networking, and you can make your own aerials to cover extended distances very cheaply.

notechyet
12-01-2005, 06:04 PM
Thanks so far guys.
Let's see what more is to come.
Is it really that a few leafs can make such a difference? I can understand if it is a wall or any solid barrier over a certain distance..?

So I'll wait and ..

Regards

gion :D

Chilling_Silence
12-01-2005, 06:13 PM
Go for one of those nicer Linksys routers..... And get a booster arial for it :-) You could easily get a KM or two with a few db difference

notechyet
12-01-2005, 07:36 PM
Hi Chilling_Silence
Can you explain it a bit more for an half way experinced person!
What machine and whatever als is needed? Any idea of costs?
Thanks
Gion :confused:

Growly
12-01-2005, 07:37 PM
Trees are said to make a huge difference, but in practise I have found them to be nothing more than an annoyance - that being said, the power output of my antenna isn't quite legal. If you can get a decent output card and a good booster aerial you should be fine...

Chilling_Silence
12-01-2005, 07:59 PM
You'll need one AP (Access Point) and a compatible protocol adapter for your neighbour at the other end.

Costs? About $200 - $250ish....
Something like:
http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-spec.asp?pid=113657

Great quality AP!

Then you'll be after something like:
http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-spec.asp?pid=8006503
Or maybe something even more powerful :)

This may be of interest as to what db rating give roughly what range:
http://usbwifi.orcon.net.nz/


Chill.

volkan
12-01-2005, 08:48 PM
I use the D- Link DSL604+ 22mbps wireles router and built in modem and D- Link DWL - 520+ on the networked machines.

The DSL604+ also has 4 ethernet ports for LAN as well has the capablities of WLAN.

Rob99
13-01-2005, 12:11 AM
Also look for G+ or G plus or G max from different manafactures as these will double the 54mb speed of the standard G. I use D-Link.
Pick a couple of modles that fit your budjet and come back here to weed the best one out.

notechyet
13-01-2005, 05:12 AM
Thanks guys,
so to summ up (taking into accopunt that I have to machines that I Like to have on my network, which I have laid the cable)

Getting a router
with modem ?
with the above specs
a cable from the router to the areal
buy or make an areal for both sides
connect all
hold my breath and hope?

Does that sound ok?

Regards

Gion ;)

Rob99
13-01-2005, 08:30 AM
How do you connect to the internet at the moment?

Are you going to share the internet or just files?

John H
13-01-2005, 09:42 AM
Gion - do you live in Christchurch? If so, there is a ChCh Wireless Community here that may be able to assist.

John

Chilling_Silence
13-01-2005, 11:32 AM
You only need one AP and one Booster Antennae because yours will have the range to send/receive over to your neighbours place, even thou they're only using some stock standard 802.11g or even b adaptor.

wizzer
13-01-2005, 02:02 PM
Gion - do you live in Christchurch? If so, there is a ChCh Wireless Community here that may be able to assist.

John

You can also try http://www.nzwireless.org/index.html

great resource and lots of advice :)

notechyet
15-01-2005, 07:55 AM
Good morning to you all
Firstly thanks for all the answers ;
To the area; I live rural in the Nelson area(trees)
In the next few days I intend to go on the roof and check out exactly if there is straight sight or are those trees in the way.
Does anyone know if I could use an old SKY dish as receiver on my end?
And is there somewhere a "manual" how to do the setup step by step?
Regards

Gion :)

John H
15-01-2005, 10:26 AM
Good morning to you all
snip
And is there somewhere a "manual" how to do the setup step by step?
snip

Try http://www.yobbo.co.nz/index.htm

Rob99
16-01-2005, 12:50 AM
Yes you can use your Sky dish, you still need to make a cantenna to fit to it tho.

Chilling_Silence
16-01-2005, 02:20 PM
see usbwifi.orcon.net.nz as Im pretty sure somebody there used an old Sky Dish.

I was going to be contacting Sky myself to see if they'd sell me an old 2nd hand one cheap :D

Prescott
16-01-2005, 06:24 PM
ive got a old sky dish, i was always interested if i could use it for wireless networking, but still dont know how, its not for sale though :p

you could check out trademe, they have sometimes have one there

notechyet
17-01-2005, 09:42 PM
Try http://www.yobbo.co.nz/index.htm

Thanks John and also all the others for your help.
The links are good!!
I feel that with my neighbour together I can takle this project. Still I need to look at the costing and that will take me a little while.
Once more thanks to you guys!!

Gion :thumbs: