PDA

View Full Version : Win98 and 16 Colours only!



shroeder
05-01-2005, 05:19 PM
Installing W98 on a machine that had W2000

Philips 17B monitor

Standard VGA display adaptor

We can only get 16 colours? It did much better than that on W2000!

Do I need to find a better driver for the adaptor or is it some little trick with W98 that I'm missing?

Thanks :thumbs:

4bes
05-01-2005, 05:23 PM
You need to find the right driver. At the moment windows is just using a basic vga driver to get you started. Do you know what your graphics card is?

robsonde
05-01-2005, 05:23 PM
you will need the driver....

win2K will come with a lot more drivers than win98

get the right drivers and it should run exactly the same resoultion and colours.

FrankS
05-01-2005, 06:39 PM
The local Philips help phone no is
0800 477999
Did the monitor not come with a CD-ROM and Quick Start Guide for using Windows 98?

Mike
05-01-2005, 06:59 PM
The local Philips help phone no is
0800 477999
Did the monitor not come with a CD-ROM and Quick Start Guide for using Windows 98?
I don't think this is a monitor issue - the video card rather than the monitor is what will be giving only 16 colours. The correct video card driver would probably fix the problem.

Mike.

drcspy
05-01-2005, 07:16 PM
nothing whatsoever to do with the phillips monitor it is DEFINITELY a video card driver issue.......you need some way of identifying the video card is it an 'onboard' card, (built into the mobo) or is it a pci/agp card.....if pci/agp then just open the case and take a look at the card and note the chipset type and go look online for drivers make sure any you download are for win9 of course.....if onboard you may need a little program like one I have 'unknown deviceidentifier.exe' ah .......just cheked their website and I dont think it's free anymore could email it to you I guess it's 823 kb... if you need it emailed post your addy here but DONT use the @ symbol type it in the following format >>> bob at whatever.com

Terry Porritt
05-01-2005, 07:16 PM
If the machine is the IBM PC 300GL that you posted about earlier, then you will hopefully be able to get the video adapter driver fromthe IBM download pages.

Here is the URL as far as PC 300GL:

here (http://www.ibm.com/products/finder/us/en/finders?Ne=5000000&finderN=1000100&pg=ddfinder&collection=dblue&collectionN=4294967280&sid=744025191104904952799&cc=US&lc=en&oldC1=5000246&tmpl=%2Fproducts%2Ffinder%2Fus%2Fen%2Ffinders&C1=5000246&C2=5000284)

There is then a box to fill in with the model number, this should be on a sticker at the back of the computer somewhere, a number like 626366A.

Your computer is likely to have an Australian suffix.

Then you go to Drivers-Video-Windows-Windows 98 and hopefully get the driver for your system.

As Mike said, the monitor has nothing to do with the video adapter driver (except for knowing what resolutions and refresh rates are possible)

Good luck.

Terry Porritt
05-01-2005, 07:22 PM
In fact it may be this driver here (http://www.ibm.com/products/finder/us/en/finders?lc=en&C2=5000284&C1=5000246&tmpl=%2Fproducts%2Ffinder%2Fus%2Fen%2Ffinders&prodData=626366A&sid=744025191104904952799&cc=US&N=1001071+3000092+5000284+4294967280&oldC2=5000284&oldC1=5000246&collectionN=4294967280&finderN=1000100&pg=ddfinder&collection=dblue&)

drcspy
05-01-2005, 07:59 PM
lol the old s3trio lol

David Edgar
05-01-2005, 09:12 PM
The problem would most likely be that the correct video driver has not been installed. If this is so you will be reduced to 640 x 480 pixels only and unable to increase to a greater resolution i.e 800 x 600.

If you know what type of graphics card you have, (you may have to open up you computer and read the name on the card itself), you may be able to go to the manufacturer's website and download an updated driver

paradox
05-01-2005, 11:12 PM
I had this happen after installing Win98 once. After weeks I discovered that I hadn't installed the motherboard drivers. Went just fine after I did. Ken

shroeder
06-01-2005, 09:33 AM
Thanks all for your help.

Terry, that was exactly the right driver!

BTW, I never did get into the BIOS/CMOS so I've only managed to load W98 so far - No linux at this stage.

Terry Porritt
06-01-2005, 10:51 AM
Good-oh. I thought that driver would be the one. A number of those machines, PC 300GL and PL, Netvistas, have "passed through my hands" ex-auction this last year or two..
You can also get the sound card and ethernet drivers from that site.

It is also possible to buy {horrid word} install CDs from IBM for Win98 and Win2k, cost is about $82. These are not recovery CDs, but the full works, and will work on a wide range of machines. All you have to do is to quote them a type, model and serial number. And, if there is an IBM/MS certificate stuck on the side of the case, you have legality.

These CDs come with IBM goodies on them, like a link that connects with IBM with your machine details, and you can get all the drivers and updates. A bit like Windows Update.

It is very strange though, that you have not been able to get into the BIOS via F1. I don't know the answer to that.

Mike
06-01-2005, 05:41 PM
It is also possible to buy {horrid word} install CDs from IBM for Win98 and Win2k, cost is about $82. These are not recovery CDs, but the full works, and will work on a wide range of machines. All you have to do is to quote them a type, model and serial number. And, if there is an IBM/MS certificate stuck on the side of the case, you have legality.
Do you have a link/contact for this Terry? I have recently acquired a 300PL and something like that might come in handy.

Mike.

Prescott
06-01-2005, 06:03 PM
Ten up you computer and read the name on the card itself), you may be able to go to the manufacturer's website and download an updated driver

nah just get a program like everest, that will tell you every thing about your pc

Terry Porritt
06-01-2005, 07:08 PM
Do you have a link/contact for this Terry? I have recently acquired a 300PL and something like that might come in handy.

Mike.

I started by phoning IBM, and after a bit of shuffling around I was given this number;

0800446149

I dont have a contact name now, but they were very helpful. I paid by credit card, and it took them about 3 months to actually charge.

The ones I bought were for Win2k and the Netvista range. There were 2 supplied called Product Recovery CD1 and CD2. I only used CD1.

Mike
06-01-2005, 07:15 PM
I paid by credit card, and it took them about 3 months to actually charge.
How long did it take for the CDs to arrive?

Mike.

Terry Porritt
06-01-2005, 07:26 PM
It only took about 4-5 days to arrive, I think they may have come from Australia.
I have sent you a PM with a bit more detail, Mike.

Cheers