PDA

View Full Version : sorry i need some help -.-;;



ggg555
29-12-2004, 03:41 PM
i just bought a new microphone(headset, not usb) for my computer (windows xp), and it wont record, it plays sounds, but wont record... any ideas on how to fix this? and no, im not stupid, its not muted and the volume is up. any ideas would be much appreciated!

- ggg555

Overdrive_5000
29-12-2004, 03:52 PM
Hi there have you checked to see if the plugs arent round the wrong way and also have you tried to record using windows sound recorder ?

ggg555
29-12-2004, 03:59 PM
yea ive tried in windows default recorder, and i matched the pink switch with the pink plug ^^,

Overdrive_5000
29-12-2004, 04:17 PM
Ok are you using the front or rear ports?

ggg555
29-12-2004, 04:41 PM
rear

Overdrive_5000
29-12-2004, 04:49 PM
If your case has front ports try them

Chilling_Silence
29-12-2004, 04:50 PM
Have you checked the _RECORDING_ volume, not just the playback volume??

ggg555
29-12-2004, 04:53 PM
yea, i checked the recording, and since its a headphone hole, there is no jack in the front

ggg555
30-12-2004, 04:00 AM
if it would help, it seems to be a software problem, and i have a soundmax legacy sound card?

JJJJJ
30-12-2004, 08:32 AM
i and no, im not stupid, its not muted and the volume is up. any ideas would be much appreciated!
- ggg555

Is it plugged in? Sorry I couldn't resist. :)
Jack

Chilling_Silence
30-12-2004, 08:57 AM
Grab http://www.goldwave.com and try recording with that.

Im suspecting theres something small we're overlooking and perhaps a change in scenery may flush out the culprit as such ;-)


Chill.

Robby
30-12-2004, 09:05 AM
gidday,

the microphone may need selecting, open your volume control,
click options, properties, click recording to place a dot in the round
box, click ok.
click the select box for microphone, a tick should appear there, push
the volume up to where you want it, click ok,
and exit all the way out.

good luck,

robby

godfather
30-12-2004, 09:37 AM
Since nobody has yet mentioned it, are you very certain that the headset has the correct microphone type for your system?

Many sound cards require a condenser ("electret") type mike, but many "computer headsets" I have seen are fitted with a dynamic microphone. While some sound cards likely will accommodate a dynamic mic, many will probably not work. This is not something that software can change.

Graham L
30-12-2004, 04:01 PM
Have a good look at the back panel. :dogeye: Although most manufacturers seem to colour code the plugs and sockets, they don't all agree on what colours signify what input. :mad:

Go by the stamped identification "MIC" rather than "pink".