PDA

View Full Version : Setting Digital Camera White Balance



Tony
25-12-2004, 02:05 PM
My camera manual says you can set a manual white balance by aiming the camera at a white or gray card.

My question is - how does the camera know the difference? There is nothing in the settings to say what you are pointing at, so how does it know that what it is reading is grey rather than dirty white?

:confused:

wotz
25-12-2004, 03:38 PM
What make and model?

Tony
25-12-2004, 03:58 PM
Canon A95 - why does that make a difference?

wotz
25-12-2004, 04:20 PM
Coz then someone with that model might be able help. They are not all the same.

wotz
25-12-2004, 04:37 PM
I don't have an A95, but from what I have found, you need to press the set button when aiming at what you want as the custom white balance.

Tony
25-12-2004, 06:18 PM
I know how to set the white balance. What I don't understand is why you can aim at either a white or a grey card, without having to tell the camera which one it is.

Sorry if I didn't make myself clear.

Prescott
25-12-2004, 06:25 PM
isnt there an automatic white balance?

wotz
26-12-2004, 01:37 PM
The camera is just a dumb machine. If you tell it that grey is white it will process the image that way. Same as if you point it at a red wall - red is the new white. The camera doesn't care if its a white or grey wall. All it knows is that you want it to reconise that colour as white.

Tony
26-12-2004, 03:23 PM
That is exactly what I don't understand. How come the manual tells me to set a custom white balance by pointing the camera at a white or gray card, without having to do anything else to indicate which it is? I would have assumed that you would get quite different results using one rather than the other, but the manual does not say that.

wotz
26-12-2004, 04:03 PM
Time for you to do some reading (http://www.google.co.nz/search?hl=en&q=why+adjust+white+balance&btnG=Search&meta=) on it.