PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning the Keyboard keys?

ssssss
19-12-2004, 10:46 PM
Hi.
What methods do people use to clean their keyboards?
My Keyboard is 3 years old now, and inspite of careful use has got quite dirty with accumulated grime. It is a light grey coloured keyboard.
I did see the BluTack people recommending their BluTack to clean the keys, but this does not work. :groan:

noone
19-12-2004, 10:49 PM
i have heard that if you wash it in water and let it to dry it still works - but maybe you should to wait to see what another person says as i have never used this method before

Growly
19-12-2004, 10:53 PM
noone's method is excellent, just make sure there is no circuitry for additional buttons / slider / throttles. I've only heard this advice in relation to mechanical keyboards myself, but I am quite tempted to bathe my 6 year old HP keyboard (extremely faithful) to clean it. Hopefully it won't break too...

gill
19-12-2004, 10:57 PM
The best thing to do is arm yourself with a screwdriver and undo all the screws on the back, open it up and have a good old clean from the inside -make sure you have plenty of time and patience.
Did the trick for me.

Prescott
19-12-2004, 11:09 PM
The best thing to do is arm yourself with a screwdriver and undo all the screws on the back, open it up and have a good old clean from the inside -make sure you have plenty of time and patience.
Did the trick for me.

recommended, and use a air compressor if you got one, it will blow the grim out of there :D

ineedhelp
19-12-2004, 11:29 PM
i find turning it upside down and banging on the bottom of it helps to get a lot of the dust/ hairs/ boogers/ fingernail shreads and anything else in there out. not a very thorough cleaning method but it's a start.

Murray P
19-12-2004, 11:52 PM