PDA

View Full Version : NTLDR



Thomas
14-12-2004, 08:46 AM
On boot up the computer would only go as far as this .

NTLDR missing.

I was going to reformat as bootup scs would not solve.

What is ntldr?

Thanks folks.

drcspy
14-12-2004, 09:02 AM
Windows XP users

Insert the Windows XP bootable CD into the computer.
When prompted to press any key to boot from the CD, press any key.
Once in the Windows XP setup menu press the "R" key to repair Windows.
Log into your Windows installation by pressing the "1" key and pressing enter.
You will then be prompted for your administrator password, enter that password.
Copy the below two files to the root directory of the primary hard disk. In the
below example we are copying these files from the CD-ROM drive letter "E". This
letter may be different on your computer.

copy e:\i386\ntldr c:
copy ntdetect.com c:


Once both of these files have been successfully copied, remove the CD from the
computer and reboot.

******************************

Misconfiguration with the boot.ini file

Edit the boot.ini on the root directory of the hard disk drive and verify that it is
pointing to the correct location of your Windows Operating System and that the
partitions are properly defined

Jim B
14-12-2004, 09:07 AM
Make sure you don't have a floppy disk in the drive.
Otherwise you are going to have an interesting day.

Short for NT Loader, a program loaded from the hard drive boot sector that displays the Microsoft Windows NT startup menu and helps Windows NT load.

Murray P
14-12-2004, 09:10 AM
Thomas, NTLDR is your NT loader.

You haven't been dual booting have you? Haven't left something in any of the removable media drives, this should return Invalid System Disk error unless perhaps they're bootable but brocken in some way.

If this just started out of the blue without you having any input, you need to back up just in case. Although I don't think this is generally a sign of problems with your drive it could be a corrupted MBR, boot sector or partition table.

Thomas
14-12-2004, 09:20 AM
>>Microsoft Windows NT startup menu and helps Windows NT load.

I wonder where it went.

I did all of M/S stuff as quoted above,when it came to get the disc to run it just kept saying there wasn't enough room,there was 27 gig available.


Anyway I gave up thinking of why didn't I do more backups.
On the way to the dastardly message I noticed I had "go back3",
tried to click on time only to find my keyboard is usb and didn;t work,luckily I have an old ps2 board and went back 3 days.

Thanks chaps for the information.