PDA

View Full Version : Desktop Hanging When Connected to Internet



procosm
13-12-2004, 10:34 AM
Everytime my dialup connection connects the whole windows xp desktop hangs for quite a few minutes before it frees up. I have Windows XP Professional SP2, Conexant HCF PCI data fax modem. MSI GeForce FX 5200 graphics card with WHQL nVidia driver version 6.6.9.3.
The problems seemed to start after I changed from the non WHQL MSI driver to another version of the WHQL nVidia driver. After I updated to the latest nVidia driver it seemed to be fixed for a while but then came back. I also tried removing my modem driver and letting it reinstall at reboot. This did not solve the problem. I also tried deleting my slingshot account and then setting it up again this also seemed to fix things for a while then back to the same. I have used Adaware and Spybot with the latest updates also done a virus scan with Avast 4.5 but this hasn't helped. I thought it might be Avast causing problems if it is trying to update because it would some times send up an error message that it could not connect to server if I used ctl alt del and killed the connection or pressing the restart button. the error would be in the event log. I have done a repair of Avast from Add Remove Programs.
So I am at a loss what to do now. Can anyone help me please?

Spacemannz
13-12-2004, 10:40 AM
See if anything is conflicting in device manager.

Look for anything with a X or ! or circle. Did u uninstall the previous version of the Nvidia drivers before u installed the latest ones?

I dont think it'll be the Nvidia drivers tho.

Megaman
13-12-2004, 10:42 AM
try http://housecall.trendmicro.com or a real modem

procosm
13-12-2004, 02:33 PM
Thanks for the fast reply.
I looked at the Device Manager to see if there were any conflicts or other problems and there was nothing.
Yes I did uninstall the previous graphics card driver first.
I thought that if the driver for my modem was corrupted even though I removed it before, would it still use the same corrupted files on reinstalling because are they really removed from the disk on uninstall?

procosm
13-12-2004, 02:35 PM
I have just used Trend Micro House Call and it found no viruses.

Rob99
13-12-2004, 02:45 PM
My experience with Avast; bad

I would guess if you could remove Avast completly (good luck) your problems would be solved.

When I tried to remove Avast from my computer it went badly, ended up having to reinstall.

A better alternative free Anti virus program is AVG

procosm
16-12-2004, 11:35 PM
I have uninstalled Avast antivirus and replaced it with AVG. I am still having the same hanging delay until the desktop frees up on internet connection. It hangs for just over 2 minutes or nearly 3.

johnboy
17-12-2004, 10:21 AM
Try a repair of Ie. Do you know what is running in the back ground ,maybe it is something like that sucking all your resources ??.
How to Reinstall or Repair Internet Explorer and Outlook Express in Windows XP (Q318378)
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q318378
hth

procosm
19-12-2004, 04:11 PM
Try a repair of Ie. Do you know what is running in the back ground ,maybe it is something like that sucking all your resources ??.
How to Reinstall or Repair Internet Explorer and Outlook Express in Windows XP (Q318378)
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q318378
hthInternet explorer is functioning correctly. I am starting my internet connection before I start any browser.
Here is a sreenshot of the running processes on my computer.
file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Greg/My%20Documents/Screen%20Shots%20%26%20Window%20Shots/Running%20Processes.JPG
I have noticed that the modem connection icon does not appear on the the system tray next to the clock sometimes although it is still connected. After the desktop frees up and I open the settings for the dialup connection, if I unselect to show icon in system tray, click apply, the select show icon in system tray and apply it will immediately become visible.
Other times when it connects it does show in the system tray but because the desktop is hung no activity can be seen. At other times it will connect with no hanging right from the start or only a very short interval.

Lohsing
19-12-2004, 06:22 PM
Run a spyware test - could be some nasty spyware causing problems?

Lo.

procosm
19-12-2004, 10:40 PM
I made a bit of a mistake in my last post with showing the running processes. I did not realize I had to upload images tp press f1 first before trying to past the link to them. So here is the link showing the running background processes when I have this hanging problem.

http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/Running_Processes.jpg

procosm
19-12-2004, 10:46 PM
Run a spyware test - could be some nasty spyware causing problems?

Lo.Already done that with latest version of Adaware SE Personal and Spybot S&D both with the latest updates.
Also did a virus scan with the latest updated AVG.

johnboy
20-12-2004, 08:52 AM
Have a look at these sites to identify what is running.
http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php
http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_content.php
hth

procosm
28-12-2004, 01:04 PM
I have found out why the desktop was hanging when connected to the internet. The reason was I was using standby power saving. I have now turned this off. I don't know why standby started causing this as I had been using standby before it started with no problems.