PDA

View Full Version : Modem Speed



help_me
11-12-2004, 10:08 PM
Hi i have a Lucent Win Modem and when i connet to the internet i get slow speeds like 34.6kbps(and lower) it is a 56k modem. now what i find wierd is that the exact same modem use to connect at 52kbps in my old computer. on the same phone line. i have installed the latest drivers from Agere(i think they have taken over lucent) and it is still the same.
i am using windows xp home
thanks

Spacemannz
11-12-2004, 10:19 PM
Get telecom to test your line for line noise.

help_me
11-12-2004, 10:46 PM
But if there was noise on the line wouldnt it have run at slower speeds on the other computer.
i think i had a string or some thing to make it connect at that speed, but i cant remeber the page or find it where i got it from

PaulD
11-12-2004, 11:22 PM
Don't get too hung up on 52k, you may find that a slower speed is more realistic and doesn't retrain as often.
http://www.modemsite.com/56k/x2-linklimit.asp#Lucent

Big John
11-12-2004, 11:34 PM
Just because a certain speed is reported does not mean that it stays at that speed the whole time you are connected. If the line gets noisy then the speed will drop and if the line improves it will get faster. You will not see this unless you monitor transfer speeds or query the modem to see what speed it is currently connected at.

Also the speeds can be affected by the weather and if it has been raining a lot lately around your place you may find that the line gets a bit more noise and when the ground dries out it is better.

Could also be noise picked up from other sources in the house that is getting induced onto the phone lines.

Remember Telecom don't say that their lines will connect at 56k or such. They say 24k from memory and anything else is gravy

george12
11-12-2004, 11:50 PM
A lot is in the quality of the modem. And I usually find "WinModems" or "Soft modems" connect quite a bit faster.

It's just a fact, that some modems connect faster than others. Big John is right too, it will go up and down - that is just the initial speed of connection.

ninja
12-12-2004, 12:59 AM
That number is pretty arbitrary. It can change between driver versions, the same modem in two different PC's as you've found, the same PC with two of the same types of modem.

It has no bearing on your actual connection speed.

Raikyn
12-12-2004, 01:16 AM
Also another thing I have found out is that other telephones can effect your speed. I found that if the phone in the garage was connected then the speed would drop to 36K from 52K.

sam m
12-12-2004, 06:05 AM
Did you by chance upgrade anything else in the house on the phone line? eg Digital Sky, new phone or fax. Unplug these from line if you have and see if that makes a difference.

Thomas
12-12-2004, 07:45 AM
Just thinking prior to reading this,that no matter what the speed is, be it 32 or 46,seems to do things at the same speed.
Do you find find there is a big distinction between the high and the low?

Prescott
12-12-2004, 09:40 AM
thats nothing, i connect at 115.2kbps and im on dial up! :D

Prescott
12-12-2004, 09:41 AM
and still no difference in speed when/if it connects at 38.2 or something else........

godfather
12-12-2004, 10:11 AM
> thats nothing, i connect at 115.2kbps and im on dial
> up! :D

All that indicates is that the wrong driver is being used, and the speed reported is the speed of the computer-to-modem connection, not the modem-to-ISP connect speed.

115.2 kbs is the standard serial port speed.

Prescott
12-12-2004, 10:21 AM
oh i see, oh well it works and i can surf the net so im not worried :)

godfather
12-12-2004, 10:23 AM
If it works, then just ignore the erronious connect speed. Its not a reliable indication of speed anyway!

Megaman
12-12-2004, 10:53 AM
> If it works, then just ignore the erronious connect
> speed. Its not a reliable indication of speed anyway!


awww...i got that speed reported too.

thanks for bursting my bubble...

help_me
12-12-2004, 07:41 PM
the download speed is alot different from when it connected at 52k now it only downloads around 1kb where before it was sometimes having speeds of up to 10

george12
12-12-2004, 10:14 PM
Up to ten!!!

But 7KB/sec is the technical maximum for 56.0kbps. Compression I guess.

Anyway, dialup is far from reliable in speed, so I don't think there are many easy fixes :(

help_me
12-12-2004, 10:23 PM
yea it occasionally jumped to 10 for like a second or two then droped to 5 or 4.
but now i am only getting download speeds of 0.50