PDA

View Full Version : Resolution problem



thehelkev
11-12-2004, 01:57 PM
I Have windows 98. After a virus problem I ran SpyBot and the issues appeared to have been fixed except I have just 16 bit colour resolution and in the display settings I cannot alter from 16 bit to a higher resolution.... any help would be great!

Spacemannz
11-12-2004, 01:58 PM
Find out what your video card is and download the drivers for the videocard, install then reboot. That SHOULD fix it.

Prescott
11-12-2004, 03:30 PM
hi and welcome to pressf1 :)
do you know what sort of graphics card or type of intergrated graphics you have? if not try to download everest (http://www.lavalys.com/products/download.php?pid=1&lang=en) and this will tell you every thing about your computer. then google your graphics card type or intergrated graphics and download the latest drivers.
Hope that helps or just post back. :)

drcspy
11-12-2004, 04:31 PM
sigh.........16 BIT colour is fine and you'd never even notice that it wasn't 24 or 32 BIT colour.............are you sure you are accurate in what you say ?..........in my experience folks who say ........'oh i've only got 16 BIT colour' REALLY mean...........i've only got 16 colours...............now .........which is it ?

tweak\'e
12-12-2004, 10:39 AM
>.16 BIT colour is fine and you'd never even notice that it wasn't 24 or 32 BIT colour

yeah right ! only if your half blind :^O

Graham L
12-12-2004, 01:33 PM
But it's probably 16 colours. And 640x480. Sound familiar? ;-)

drcspy
12-12-2004, 03:05 PM
exactly.........

shortcircuit
12-12-2004, 09:04 PM
I had this problem a few years ago on an 'old' computer running Win98. From memory I solved it by changing the 'generic' monitor in display properties to a different one (I think you can find 5 or 6 different monitors in the hardware list) so that it will show 32 bit colour again in the display settings. Other option is to re-install Win98 over the top of the existing one so you don't loose your files etc. .. but will 'update' the display properties.

HTH