PDA

View Full Version : Icon size



Thomas
09-12-2004, 07:23 AM
Since SP2 was added to my computer,the icons are of the large size.

Looked at customize task bar,found it showing small,so changed to large to see what large looked like and they were the same.

Something is afoot,but I know not what?

johnboy
09-12-2004, 08:05 AM
Try this click start then in the run box type sfc /scannow note there is a space between sfc and / this is the Windows File Checker it will ask for your installation cd . .
You should also download TweakUI for XP from Microsoft here (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx). There is a "Rebuild Icons" selection which will fix most problems.
hth

Thomas
09-12-2004, 06:25 PM
Sorry Johnboy,could you try again,you are dealing with some one who is not a natural here;)

Don't you think some posters can be a pesky nuisance?:8}

theotherone
09-12-2004, 06:39 PM
Thomas,
Before you try that check that your screen size (Resolution) is correct. I have had this problem before and just found that the setting had changed. I think I owe thanks to Susan for this piece of info.

godfather
09-12-2004, 06:41 PM
Click [Start] [Run] and type sfc /scannow in the [Open] box.

(Note that there is a space between "sfc" and "/scannow")

The process takes a few minutes. A progress dialogue box will appear during this time.

If nothing seems to happen, or there is a quick flick of a box opening and closing quickly, you have enered it wrongly.

Thomas
09-12-2004, 08:16 PM
Thank you Rob,that did the trick.

I really tried without a good result G_F,but as you see all is well.

Whilst we are at it,would you say what the ideal settings are,if there is such a thing for ..Resolution.
DPI settings.
Screen refresh rate.

You have spoken on this before,but it's the little grey cells again;)

Raikyn
09-12-2004, 08:37 PM
What size and type of monitor do you have?

Thomas
09-12-2004, 09:20 PM
ViewSonic E70...CRT

Raikyn
09-12-2004, 09:23 PM
Well according to this page (http://www.viewsonic.com/products/desktopdisplays/crtmonitors/e2series/e70/) it's 1024*768 at 87 Hz

godfather
09-12-2004, 09:26 PM
Makers of that monitor recommend 1024x768 resolution at 87Hz refresh as "optimal"

Raikyn
09-12-2004, 09:32 PM
With a CRT I would suggest trying out the different resolutions and go with what you're most comfortable with. Then go with a refresh rate at 75 or above.

Thomas
09-12-2004, 09:41 PM
Thank you chaps,I do believe I have got there;)