PDA

View Full Version : Dell PSU's are insane.



agent_24
08-12-2004, 09:47 PM
Just bought a Dell PS-5151-1, 145watt PSU from trademe.

Isn't it marvellous that Dell don't want to be like other people and have PSU's that can be used anywhere.

So now I have a PSU that I can't use because the pinout configuration resembles the audio connector for a car stereo......

Anyway - Since it is a power supply and since I was told it was fully working when I got it, I thought I might use it to power something other than a Dell 'thing'.

Only problem is that due to the insane connections, I have no idea how to start it, and Dell's site doesn't seem to be very helpful.

If anyone knows anything and could help, please do!

tweak\'e
08-12-2004, 10:29 PM
whats wrong with it ? going by a pic it looks to be a standard atx psu.

PaulD
08-12-2004, 10:45 PM
ATX took some time to settle. Early Dell had their own ideas.
http://www.quepublishing.com/articles/article.asp?p=31105
will have some details.

george12
08-12-2004, 11:02 PM
Dell decided they wanted to be rebellious and unique, and ignoring the ATX specifications, they went ahead to make their own special version (re-arranged the pins ;)).

However, the worst thing was that they used the same connector as ATX, resulting in thousands of destroyed motherboards around the world.

Nice one Dell.

They use proper ones now though.

noone
08-12-2004, 11:14 PM
all dells are insane - get used to it

Terry Porritt
09-12-2004, 07:13 AM
You just have to accept that proprietary brand names like Dell, Compaq, IBM, HP etc make things that are not interchangeable with generic "clone" items.

Dells big problem as George said was making psu's that looked like ATX supplies, but had different pin-outs to match their non-interchangeable motherboards.

Biggles
09-12-2004, 11:07 AM
Bit like that scene in Star Wars then when R2D2 mistakes a power outlet for a data port .......

R2x1
09-12-2004, 11:35 AM
> Bit like that scene in Star Wars then when R2D2 mistakes a power outlet for a data port .......

I remember it well
R2

Dolby Digital
09-12-2004, 11:36 AM
Looks like it might be back on Trademe...

agent_24
09-12-2004, 12:26 PM
No, that's the same person trying to sell some more of them

Thanks to that link at www.quepublishing.com I managed to get the thing started without a board, and it's now powering a cd drive and amplified speakers just for the hell of it.....

I might build some crazy sort of CD player with it, not sure though

drb1
09-12-2004, 12:44 PM
AGENT,

What model is it?

There are simple ways to make it usable, and to put std ATX in dell.

I belive all the 24pin are std, (ISTBC).

D.

fus1_n
09-12-2004, 01:19 PM
> Just bought a Dell PS-5151-1, 145watt PSU from
> trademe.
145Watt!?!????!!! What???? That is far to little to power a PC surely...!!!!??!?!?

agent_24
09-12-2004, 01:34 PM
Model is Dell PS-5151-1

drb1
09-12-2004, 02:04 PM
Agent,

Sad, looking for 5141 or 233snf or300gbb or330dbb, such is life.

FUS1,

No hungry devices, 70 watt is heaps, we want to run pc, not cd/dvd burner factory, or Ist person shooter Arcade.

D.

JohnD
09-12-2004, 04:36 PM
Too little for sure. I recently built a base AMD system where the documentation said the mininum PSU should be 350Watts. The supplier had given me a 200W PSU so I sent it back and got the recommended size.