PDA

View Full Version : Connecting slow?



Craig
22-11-2004, 12:53 PM
OS: Windows XP Home SP2
Modem: DSE Adsl
Connection: Ihug 3gb 256k
Problem: Connecting at 320kbps instead of usual 3.0+ mbps
Any ideas?

Pete O\'Neil
22-11-2004, 01:05 PM
Out of interest why would/should a 256k plan be connecting at 3mbps?

Craig
22-11-2004, 01:10 PM
Had a little tweak and had it usually connecting at 3.2mbps since I've had it which has been about 6months, now the last few days its at 320kbps, its a sad story.

Craig
22-11-2004, 01:11 PM
I have time stamping on and optimized the MTU to 1490, unsure about the TRW but shldnt cause the change

ninja
22-11-2004, 01:22 PM
So for a start you're actually getting what you're paying for.

The "connection speed" is the line speed the modem negotiates when it syncs the line up. That used to give readings as high as it could get, regardless of what plan you were on.

This was because the bandwidth shaping was done further up the chain. Telecom are in the process of shifting the point of speed restriction out to the peripheries, which in turn will make your negotiated line speed closer to the plan you're paying for.

It won't actually alter the data transfer rate.