PDA

View Full Version : Nortons Ghost



theotherone
17-11-2004, 03:20 PM
anyone got an Idea where I can get a copy of this quickly without buying the latest.
I had to go out and got out bid on trade me a few minutes ago.
A shop which sells second haand software might have it if I knew where to look.
Any clues

somebody
17-11-2004, 03:30 PM
I know sometimes stores like DSE/Noel Leemings/Harvey Norman sell older versions cheap, esp. if they only have a couple of copies left and the rest are new stock.

Other than obtaining a copy illegally, this might be your only option.

theotherone
17-11-2004, 03:34 PM
What are legality issues around buying a copy on Trade Me? anyone got an opinion?

somebody
17-11-2004, 03:45 PM
If it's a full retail version, and they give you everything (original packaging, manual, cds etc) then it'll be legal. If it's an OEM version or they sell it to you incomplete, or keep a copy for themselves, then it's illegal.

Terry Porritt
17-11-2004, 03:58 PM
There may be free alternatives to Ghost.

I just did a quick seach and came up with CloneMax from PCInspector:

http://www.pcinspector.de/clone-maxx/uk/welcome.htm

It will clone a complete drive to another.

Then the hard drive manufacturers do similar programs. Maxtor have Maxblast for example for disk copying.

theotherone
17-11-2004, 04:06 PM
Thanks Terry,
I will investigate that, I have 2 different brands (!!!!!!) seagate and sanyo, I wonder if that will matter?

theotherone
17-11-2004, 04:14 PM
should have said Samsung

Terry Porritt
17-11-2004, 08:18 PM
There could be brand problems using HDD manufacturers utilities.

I havent been very successful tonight.

First I downloaded CloneMaxx and tried to clone my 40GB Maxtor with WinXP Pro on it to an 80GB Western Digital. It just stalled after trying to write in different UDMA modes and then eventually PIO mode.

Then I booted from Maxblast 3.6, which loads a RAM drive and that stalled with an error message about deeply nested batch files, or something like that.

But Ghost works ok with no problems, it will clone to a larger or smaller drive adjusting the partition sizes automatically.

Anyway I found this site which is interesting reading about how to clone XP using a few freewares and Ghost:

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=418&page=2

Mzee
17-11-2004, 09:51 PM
I have used Norton Ghost for years, but now use "Acronis 8" which is much better than Ghost & only cost NZ$78.

BachelorNo1
18-11-2004, 10:35 AM
Apart from being much cheaper, why is "Acronis 8" much better?

HadO
18-11-2004, 10:45 AM
I have been using Ghost for ages - very useful...

Just a query though - I have been using it with PATA drives - does it support SATA drives if I was to purchase one?

Ghost 2003, onboard SATA w RAID...

POTUS
18-11-2004, 10:56 AM
> Apart from being much cheaper, why is "Acronis 8" much better?

Yes, I would like to see that comparison too. Quite often on PF1 we get sweeping statements like "product A is better than product B", but no reason for the statement. I would be really useful if we could all add our reasoning to our statements.

viper
18-11-2004, 11:35 AM
> > Apart from being much cheaper, why is "Acronis 8"
> much better?
>
> Yes, I would like to see that comparison too. Quite
> often on PF1 we get sweeping statements like "product
> A is better than product B", but no reason for the
> statement. I would be really useful if we could all
> add our reasoning to our statements.

try doing this. (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/search.jsp?search=true&q=acronis&date=any&user=&range=30) and you might find this. (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=51430&message=315133&q=Acronis#315133)

Miami Steve
18-11-2004, 11:49 AM
Ghost 2003 does not support RAID - See here. (http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/ghost.nsf/docid/1999010613522725?Open&src=sg&docid=2002092510522725&nsf=ghost.nsf&view=8f7dc138830563c888256c2200662ecd/dfb4b017218165c088256c3f00622fae?opendocument&prod=norton%20ghost&ver=2003%20for%20windows%202000/nt/me/98&dtype=&prod=Norton%20Ghost&ver=2003%20for%20Windows%202000/NT/Me/98/XP&osv=&osv_lvl)

BachelorNo1
18-11-2004, 12:00 PM
Thanks for the link. Has it influenced you "theotherone?"

theotherone
18-11-2004, 01:47 PM
Yes, I am influenced to have a look at it but as I am likely to be using it on a once only basis, I am reluctant to fork out US$50 to upgrade a computer which is probably not worth that much anymore.

I have already spent about the current worth on the thing just cause I can't bear to throw it out.
Call me cheap!!!!!
Rob

Mzee
18-11-2004, 06:21 PM
If you have "Acronis 8" you can keep an up to date backup of your system on as many computers as you like for as long as you like.
No more full installs.
The reason that I first got it was for USB support in Dos, because my brother's computer has a crook motherboard and can not support ps2 or serial ports.

kiwibeat
19-11-2004, 11:55 AM
I just use drive image 2002 myself easy as to use