PDA

View Full Version : What would cause DNS error messages?



stu120404
16-11-2004, 04:13 PM
Hello :)

Today I have been getting DNS error messages all over the place e.g. for example I get DNS error messages or "sitenamehere.tld could not be found. Please check the name and try again" when I try & access Press F1 http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz or http://www.pressf1.co.nz, http://www.webdrive.co.nz, http://www.webstarters.co.nz, http://www.aardvark.co.nz/, http://www.kiwirant.co.nz etc…

I am running Win Xp Pro with SP2 RC 2 & this computer is network to two other computers

I don’t have a router, only an internal ADSL modem which is in one of the two other computers

I am Using Firefox 0.9.3 IE 6.0, Mailwaster 1.33 & Iam on Xtra jet stream explore

Any ideas on what might be causing this??

PS: on the gateway computer we are using Zone alarm firewall

nzStan
16-11-2004, 04:17 PM
You're not the only one. I've been getting DNS errors the whole day (on XTRA Frame Relay).

I think XTRA's dns servers are overloaded.....

stu120404
16-11-2004, 04:23 PM
> You're not the only one. I've been getting DNS
> errors the whole day (on XTRA Frame Relay).
>
> I think XTRA's dns servers are overloaded.....

I Hope you are right nzStan

I don’t know why They don’t have more then two!

george12
16-11-2004, 04:52 PM
You could use mine ;).

Or, better option, use the Orcon ones:

210.55.12.1
210.55.12.2

They always work:)

Cheers George

HadO
16-11-2004, 04:56 PM
Yeah its been a bit funny the last couple of days ?:|

stu120404
16-11-2004, 05:11 PM
> You could use mine ;).

hmmm, I might try yours one day :p ;)

> Or, better option, use the Orcon ones:
>
> 210.55.12.1
> 210.55.12.2
>
> They always work:)

Thanks George :), that seems to fix the problem :D

stu120404
16-11-2004, 05:16 PM
WHOOO Orcon's DNS server Rock!!!

HAHA @ Xtra DNS servers!

Craigb
16-11-2004, 07:16 PM
Hi all
When I was on dial-up, I was getting them all the time too. A friend of mine who is still on dial up is getting heaps and he recons his speed is down. One might leap to the conclusion that Telecom is doing it to attract Jetstream customers. It worked with me. No more DNS error yaaho.

Craigb

stu120404
16-11-2004, 09:51 PM
> One might leap to the conclusion that Telecom is
> doing it to attract Jetstream customers.

yeath, you have a point there Craigb, but thing is I am on Jetstream & I have the same problem some time ….So I could leap to the conclusion that Telecom is doing it to make unhappy Jetstream users so they jump to other ISP' then for Telecom to get more money from them.

But I think I will stick with orcon's DNS servers for now :), Does any one know what Ihugs dns servers are?( I might try there’s next ;))

george12
16-11-2004, 09:56 PM
Come on ICQ Stu

Jim B
16-11-2004, 10:24 PM
Does any one know what Ihugs dns servers
> are?

203.109.252.42 (primary)
203.109.252.43 (secondary)

HadO
16-11-2004, 10:35 PM
Hmm... the Orcon ones are better...

You'd think that your own ISP's DNS servers would be the fastest - but no...

Do some Orcon flooding to share the load :D :D

george12
16-11-2004, 10:53 PM
My DNS server is programmed with every major ISP's DNS server (except XTRA of course). It has about 16 I think. And it will directly query the root servers if there's no luck for some reason. So I never see random DNS errors:D.

Anyone is welcome to try this DNS server, 222.152.55.106, but I frankly see no point. It's great on my lan though :).

Cheers George

ninja
17-11-2004, 12:14 AM
> My DNS server is programmed with every major ISP's
> DNS server (except XTRA of course).

What? Why would a "DNS server" have this? At any rate it's poor form and aside that technically incorrect.

> It has about 16 I
> think. And it will directly query the root servers if
> there's no luck for some reason. So I never see
> random DNS errors:D.

All DNS servers query the root servers, thats how the DNS system works. If a machine doesn't have a record it queries the root servers, then the .tld root servers, then the authoritative name server for a domain name.

Get a *nix box and try dig +trace somestupiddomain.co.nz and watch it work. You might also benefit from a better understanding of how DNS works before offering your "services" publicly.

ninja
17-11-2004, 12:20 AM
> You're not the only one. I've been getting DNS
> errors the whole day (on XTRA Frame Relay).
>
> I think XTRA's dns servers are overloaded.....

I extremely doubt that is the issue. It's more likely intermittent bandwidth outages or routing issues.

Windows caches resolved names for 24 hours, therefore once you've successfully resolved a domain name once, it won't attempt to resolve it again until it's record expires.

Plenty of articles here (http://www.google.co.nz/search?hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&q=windows+24+hour+dns+cache&btnG=Search&meta=) cover it.

Thus if it works the first time, then fails intermittently after that then DNS is not your problem, chances are the errors being reported are incorrect.

Try pinging the site while you're having the problem, it'll resolve to an IP address but probably won't respond.

george12
17-11-2004, 12:44 AM
> All DNS servers query the root servers, thats how the DNS system works. If a machine doesn't have a record it queries the root servers, then the .tld root servers, then the authoritative name server for a domain name.

> Get a *nix box and try dig +trace somestupiddomain.co.nz and watch it work. You might also benefit from a better understanding of how DNS works before offering your "services" publicly.

Sorry, but I fully understand how the system works. I do not offer any DNS services publicly. It is for my business' private use. I find it faster to use an ISP's DNS server than to query the root/TLD servers directly. This is because I do not have a particularly fast internet connection (2mbit) and ISP's reduce the traffic needed to resolve a name.

Of course I did exaggerate when I said all the DNS server, I just stuck in about 4 good ones. But the basic idea still remains - my computers query the DNS server, which queries the ISP server for the name, unless it is authoritive for the domain, in which case it gives the correct local address. For example if somebody within my network typed in www.jgi.co.nz, they would get 10.0.0.80 (internal server IP) rather than 222.152.55.106 (public IP everyone else gets).

And I have seen hundreds of domains be resolved, it is rather handy knowledge for troubleshooting.

Please understand the reasons behind somebody doing something before insulting their competance.

George

ninja
17-11-2004, 12:50 AM
> Please understand the reasons behind somebody doing
> something before insulting their competance.

You posted it, prepare to have it questioned.

george12
17-11-2004, 12:55 AM
Fair enough.