PDA

View Full Version : Bios reset?



Raikyn
10-11-2004, 11:42 PM
Can the bios be reset automatically by itself or OS ?
I was just running a benchmark and noticed my Athlon XP 3000+ was running at 1290 MHz. I checked the FSB and for some reason it was set at 100 MHz, I put it back to 166 and it's back running at normal speed.
I suspect it has been running slow for a few days as the CPU temp over the last 2-3 days has been about 5 degrees cooler than usual.
It might have occurred when I was overclocking my videocard, as it locked up the computer, and then when I rebooted a few programs were screwed.
Well enough rambling :)

Murray P
11-11-2004, 12:29 AM
What's the mother board, does it have a dual BIOS? Still should auto detect.

No the OS cannot directly access the BIOS, unless there is a feature in these new fangled OS's I don't know about, ok! plenty of those. Anyway, I'd be very worried if I found out windows or a windows based app was fiddlinmg with the BIOS.

Cheers Murray P

drb1
11-11-2004, 12:32 AM
Murray,

only very worried?

D.

Murray P
11-11-2004, 12:48 AM
Terrified :O the final straw. I get nervy when boot loaders claim they modify the BIOS info on the way through, the OS... keep it out or throw it out if it does.

Murray P

Raikyn
11-11-2004, 10:54 AM
The mother board is a MSI K7N2-Delta2-LSR(MS-6570E)
I installed it about 3 weeks ago.

Prescott
11-11-2004, 11:03 AM
you can get programs that change bios settings from windows for example easytune4 with gigabyte mobos i think, maybe MSI have a prog that you used, or theres softfsb that is meant to do the same, i tried it and it didnt go.

Graham L
11-11-2004, 12:57 PM
If your computer locked up when overclocking the videocard, anything could have happened. It's even possible to write to the BIOS "CMOS" registers with the right random instructions. :D

Raikyn
11-11-2004, 05:04 PM
Also I flash the bios through windows :|

Graham L
11-11-2004, 05:09 PM
Well, you run a programme from Windows or DOS to flash the BIOS. The BIOS setup is a programme. (Some computers have the programme on the main disk). I've written programmes to manipulate BIOS settings; it's trivial. You can do it from DEBUG. :D

Raikyn
11-11-2004, 11:56 PM
A few daemons appeared after that experience.
Since I was dual-booting 98/xp and win 98 isn't compatible with my machine anymore , it gave me a good excuse to repartition and format :)

Lohsing
12-11-2004, 07:18 AM
Overclocking, particularly when you push parts beyond their capability, has resulted in the bios of my PC resetting back to standard. It's done it on my PC at home whenever I overclock too high.

I would suggest this is the problem and not to worry about it.

Lo.