PDA

View Full Version : windows XP stop message



siraaronr
10-11-2004, 12:33 PM
hi
im new to press f1 and i have a problem with windows

whenever i open up a game the computer restarts
so I change a setting in control panel to show me why it was doing it came up with a Stop error as follows

Stop: 0x0000008E (0xc00000s, 0x000000e7, 0xf3300cc8, 0x00000000)

i think thats right

anway i googled it nothing came up so i shorten it down to the first part and added on more numbers. didnt find much helpful infomation a part form faulty ram and reinstall windows.

i know how to stop the error i think its zone alarm but i need the internet so leaving the computer unprotected is not a good idea.

i dont know what to do any more and was hoping someone could help me

im runing windows xp pro and zonealarm version 5.5

also i have done a full virus scan nothing came up.

thanks

Mike
10-11-2004, 12:57 PM
What game?
What setting did you change in control panel to show you why it was doing it?
Do you need the internet while playing the game? You could try disabling zonealarm while playing it.
Try another firewall (Kerio or Outpost are my recomendations for free firewalls - I've never liked Zonealarm).

Have you confirmed it is zonealarm (disable it or exit it altogether and see if you have the same problem)? If not, why do you think that's what it is?

Could very well be faulty RAM as suggested.

Mike.

Spacemannz
10-11-2004, 01:06 PM
Welcome siraaronr. Have u installed any hardware lately?? Any drivers for any devices recently?? Stop errors can also happen with hardware and faulty drivers. And how long has this stop error problem been around?

Is SP1 or SP2 installed at all??

And what is installed as in hardware?? PCI cards etc??

Did u make this system up, or is a system u purchased from a store/shop?? And also, is it still under warranty? If it is, return it.

How many simms of ram is installed? If 2 take one out and see if it brings up a stop errorr.

Try this http://www.memtest86.com/

Its DOS ONLY I think, so u need a floppy

Murray P
10-11-2004, 01:21 PM
Are you getting a BSOD (blue screen of death) or are you taking theis info from a log file? There should be some more info like, Not les nor equal, etc, etc.

Have a look in your Event Viewer, Control Panel > Computer Management > System & Application Events, to check out issues around the time of the errors.

Have a look at this site (http://aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php) for info on stop errors.

Murray P

siraaronr
10-11-2004, 02:59 PM
i turned off all running programs it seem to help

Megaman
10-11-2004, 03:03 PM
zonealarm 5.5 is still beta. does it do the same thing with a stable version?

siraaronr
10-11-2004, 03:06 PM
also i have two sticks of pc133 sdram

no service pack installed just some updates

and i got the message from the bsod

i started yesterday and i havent changed any hardware for a tew mounths
oh and the system is a home built

the error all games that i tried simcity 3000 and red alert 2
havent tried any other games yet

siraaronr
10-11-2004, 03:08 PM
didnt know 5.5 was a beta version
maybe that causeing the problem

i did update it a few days ago
ill try a older version
thanks

siraaronr
10-11-2004, 03:10 PM
sorry for the spelling mistakes just noticed there is spell check

siraaronr
10-11-2004, 03:37 PM
taking off zone alram 5.5 solved the problem (i hope)
thanks for your help ill install a old version now

siraaronr
10-11-2004, 04:44 PM
great another problem
i took of the new zone alarm and attemped to install a old version and it wont install. it stops just after the screen were you put in your email address

im trying to install version 5.1