PDA

View Full Version : OT - Medical Question - Sore lower back when digging garden...

John W
08-11-2004, 02:45 PM
Hello there, I spent yesterday digging over the garden, now hace sore lower back, where the spine joins pelvis.

After 20min of digging, Id get a sore back, then If I arch backwards for a few moments I get a bit of relief. If I appy pressure with my thumbs on what appears to be bony protrusions in that area, I get much better relief and allows me to get going again.

Whats causing the pain? a sore-overworked disc in that spot, back muscles that are bonded to that spot or sore skeleton at that location.

Id like to know how to avoid this discomfort in the future as ive quite abit more digging to do in the next few weeks.

Thanks John W

45South
08-11-2004, 03:07 PM
Sorry I'm not a doctor & I can't give you the medical terminology for your discomfort.
But I am a Kiwi bloke & am therefore qualified to give you sound advice on:
>Id like to know how to avoid this discomfort in the future as ive quite abit more digging to do in the next few weeks
"Get the missus to do it"

Graham L
08-11-2004, 03:10 PM
But of course as a "Kiwi bloke" he takes care to give such advice well out of "hearing" of his own wife. :D

45South
08-11-2004, 03:28 PM
Oh yeah!!! :)

whtafo
08-11-2004, 03:34 PM
Don't mess with your health, see a Doctor/Physio/Osteopath.

No one here can or should make anything close to an informed diagnosis based on what you've posted.

annie
08-11-2004, 08:20 PM
Sounds like disc pain, and you need to get your digging technique sorted and the pain settled before you do much more, or you could end up in real trouble with it - see a physio for exercises/technique (remember the 'Don't use your back like a crane' ads - and if it doesn't settle within 3-4 weeks with physio, or gets worse, see a doctor

zqwerty
08-11-2004, 08:24 PM
Start riding a bicycle, it fixed my back and I had suffered all my life.

metla
08-11-2004, 08:29 PM