PDA

View Full Version : Router Setup...



Lee76
08-11-2004, 10:16 AM
I currently use a Wireless Service to access the internet and was wondering whether it was possible to use a router, presently my internet connection comes in directly to a pc via a network card then networks out from the pc on a 2nd network card then via a 5port hub to the other pc's on the network. My internet connection is different to the normal as it contains no username or password and a static IP address. Do Broadband routers allow for or work successfully with no username or password?

Pete O\'Neil
08-11-2004, 10:26 AM
You should have no problems using a router with that setup, what wireless service do you have? Do you have some sort of modem that connects to your PC via ethernet? and then share it with ICS?

Lee76
08-11-2004, 10:33 AM
My Internet is Wired Country, ethernet cable goes directly from the wired country box to the network card in the pc, then is shared out using ICS on Win XP Pro.