PDA

View Full Version : Inlarging logo with photoshop



JimboJones
07-11-2004, 04:52 PM
Is there a way to inlarge a simple logo without having pixalated edges? The logo is pretty simple, like lineart. I tried making a selection then enlarging it, but that didn't work....

Can someone make it bigger for me :)

http://www.army.mil.nz/images/armylogo.gif

whtafo
07-11-2004, 05:05 PM
Umm I'm sure thats not yours to play with

metla
07-11-2004, 05:09 PM
besides,The answer is no,its a low res small file,You can't enlarge it and keep detail.

If you were keen you could enlarge,then redraw it overtop of itself.

cadifan
07-11-2004, 06:43 PM
Unless you've been given permission from the NZ Army to fiddle with it I just wouldn't go there.

zqwerty
07-11-2004, 06:54 PM
You mean even if he just wants to make a big version to put up in his bedroom. Sanity please.

Rob99
07-11-2004, 08:02 PM
How big do you need it width/height, let me know.

If you have a scanner and a photo printer you could get it as big as you like after a couple of scans and prints.

Scouse
07-11-2004, 08:05 PM
Jimbo. See if you can contact a local territorial unit or a military recruiting source. Years ago I sought similar for one of my boys and they swamped me with posters when I asked.

tedheath
07-11-2004, 10:01 PM
I think because the army is public service we the taxpayer own them. I dont think there is any problem copying symbols of the crown.
But I have been wrong before.
If you are a tax payer and not a dole bludger or on dpb etc I would go for it.
Go to the mil nz site and use contact us, the grunts are good guys and I am sure they will help you out.

tedheath

JimboJones
08-11-2004, 09:40 AM
I agree with tedheath, I'm sure its ok.

> How big do you need it width/height, let me know.
Hight 256* 256, you can cut out the excess red bits. Thanks Rob

JimboJones
08-11-2004, 09:44 AM
Ooh, wait, don't worry about width, keep the aspect ratio

Jester
08-11-2004, 09:58 AM
It cost $24,000, has a black background, and apparently not many people like it (http://www.nzherald.co.nz/storydisplay.cfm?storyID=3543678&thesection=news&thesubsection=general)

JimboJones
08-11-2004, 10:16 AM
lol, yeah, I read that.

Rob99
08-11-2004, 10:30 PM
Hey Jimbo email me ad I'll send you what I have.

Do you have photoshop?

Murray P
08-11-2004, 11:28 PM
Resample it with higher resolution as a .psd then work on it.

Cheers Murray P

Rob99
09-11-2004, 12:32 AM
Thats one version I've done

JimboJones
09-11-2004, 02:37 PM
Thanks Rob, I have photoshop 7..

How do I resample it with higher resolution?

Murray P
09-11-2004, 10:44 PM
You could acquire it as a scan or file (not a gif) at high resolution or resize, make sure resample is selected, should work, try it. Work on the new layer, you'll have plenty of tidying/recreating up to do.

Make sure your not infringing upon anyones IP.

Cheers Murray P

Codex
09-11-2004, 10:50 PM
hey dont you mean enlarge?(sorry couldnt resist) and have you actually got permission to use the logo? you may as well find 1 of their annoying paper thingys lol(cant think of the word lol) and scan it or just trace it :D lol ;)

Rob99
10-11-2004, 12:43 AM
>have you actually got permission to use the logo

Read there website!

agent
10-11-2004, 08:10 AM
If you got a copy of the logo that used vector shapes, you could resize it to your dreams content and not lose an ounce of quality.

However, it's unlikely that you'd get that.