PDA

View Full Version : AVG



webbie
05-11-2004, 09:19 PM
I am wanting to load service pack2, but I cannot remove AVG 6.0.
Anybody ble to help me.
Thanks. webbie

Spacemannz
05-11-2004, 09:37 PM
What did u try? control panel / add remove programs??

Does it say u have to uninstall AVG? Before u install SP2??

You DO have to make sure u have no spyware. So, if u have spybot or adaware, do a scan BEFORE u update to SP2.

fairway
05-11-2004, 09:57 PM
I think the idea is to disable AVG not un-install SP3 errr 2
Reason being some antivirus programs will pick out certain code from the service pack and possibly identify it as a virus... which it will not be quite correct. It might pay to do an anti-spyware check and defrag your hard drive, and cross your fingers as well ;-)

Spacemannz
05-11-2004, 10:01 PM
I didnt say anything about uninstalling SP2. Since it HASN'T been installed yet

I had Nortons Internet Security installed it had no probs when installing SP2.

The only thing u have to watch is spyware, since SP2 will crash if u have any spyware on your system. And also if u have a newer Prescott based CPU.

webbie
06-11-2004, 06:55 AM
I installed s/p2,And rebooted. On restarting I found that I could not use-
My Computer---'open' in Explorer---'connections' in start---reply to e-mail
I rang Microsoft, and was told to delete 'Zone Alarm' and 'AVG 6'
I deleted Z/A but could not AVG. I have tried to install s/p 2 from a
n.z.world disk. I do use the delete in control panel. Thanks to all replies.