PDA

View Full Version : site access



dagon
05-11-2004, 11:43 AM
I cant access a site I know is working www.phorum.org I know its up as I can access it via remote proxies.

Its not a browser issue - I have tried 3, its not a computer issue I have tried 3. Its not an isp issue i have tried 3 of them also.

Is there anything else i can try, I was able to access it a couple of weeks ago.

I can browse the site by using:
http://www.delorie.com/web/purify.cgi?purity=html40l&url=http%3a%2f%2fphorum.org%2fphorum5%2flist.php%3 f12

but tis rather anoying haveing to do it this way

Pete O\'Neil
05-11-2004, 11:52 AM
Are you sure the site owner still owns the domain? tryed accessing it at work with IE6 and Jetstream and all i get is the MSN seach engine saying the URL doesnt exist.

theotherone
05-11-2004, 11:55 AM
I can't get it either.

POTUS
05-11-2004, 12:02 PM
I view the site using Google cache. It has a email address for enquiries: support(at)fentermine.info

stu120404
05-11-2004, 12:09 PM
> Its not a browser issue - I have tried 3, its not a
> computer issue I have tried 3. Its not an isp issue
> i have tried 3 of them also.

Who is your ISP? & what IP address Do you have?

dagon
05-11-2004, 12:15 PM
ive tried ihug, freenet, and slingshot, site is there accessable to americans ... but not us in NZ -very odd.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http://phorum.org

johnboy
05-11-2004, 12:21 PM
here (http://www.delorie.com/web/)

dagon
05-11-2004, 12:23 PM
its
www.phorum.org

that is not working from NZ

johnboy
05-11-2004, 12:24 PM
opps

whtafo
05-11-2004, 12:32 PM
Hmm... their name servers don't seem to like talking to people very much:

mike@hyperboria:~$ dig +trace @ns1.cisco.com phorum.org

; <<>> DiG 9.2.3 <<>> +trace @ns1.cisco.com phorum.org
;; global options: printcmd
. 108462 IN NS A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS J.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS K.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS L.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108462 IN NS M.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
;; Received 260 bytes from 128.107.241.185#53(ns1.cisco.com) in 161 ms

org. 172800 IN NS TLD1.ULTRADNS.NET.
org. 172800 IN NS TLD2.ULTRADNS.NET.
;; Received 110 bytes from 198.41.0.4#53(A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET) in 216 ms

PHORUM.ORG. 172800 IN NS NS2.OVERSTABLE.COM.
PHORUM.ORG. 172800 IN NS NS1.OVERSTABLE.COM.
;; Received 88 bytes from 204.74.112.1#53(TLD1.ULTRADNS.NET) in 151 ms

;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

Rob99
05-11-2004, 12:43 PM
Give Brian Moon a phone call

Graham L
05-11-2004, 01:01 PM
try http://phorum.org rather than http://www.phorum.org . :D The "www" does not always exist in web site names. It's only part of a name when it does exist. If it doesn't exist, putting it in will guarantee a "non exist" error.:D

Only a "fully qualified domain name" registered with the name servers is any use. You don't just arbitrarily add "www" to a site's name "because it is a web server".:;-)

whtafo
05-11-2004, 01:09 PM
> try http://phorum.org rather than
> http://www.phorum.org . :D The "www" does not always
> exist in web site names. It's only part of a name
> when it does exist. If it doesn't exist, putting it
> in will guarantee a "non exist" error.:D

That's what he had been trying.

> Only a "fully qualified domain name" registered with
> the name servers is any use. You don't just
> arbitrarily add "www" to a site's name "because it is
> a web server".:;-)

I don't think so Tim.

A web-server should respond to www.domainname.xx.xx - as that is the service it is providing and the standard naming convention.

Just like pop3.domainname.xx.xx etc - it is actually the basedomain that should not respond by default when addressing a website - some places do it but it is not a requirement and certainly not standard.

dagon
05-11-2004, 01:11 PM
yeah new that but it makes no difference in this case - but thanks.

dagon
05-11-2004, 01:16 PM
dig +trace @ns1.cisco.com phorum.org

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4rc6 <<>> +trace @ns1.cisco.com phorum.org
;; global options: printcmd
. 108079 IN NS I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS J.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS K.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS L.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS M.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 108079 IN NS H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
;; Received 260 bytes from 128.107.241.185#53(ns1.cisco.com) in 76 ms

org. 172800 IN NS TLD2.ULTRADNS.NET.
org. 172800 IN NS TLD1.ULTRADNS.NET.
;; Received 110 bytes from 192.36.148.17#53(I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET) in 42 ms

PHORUM.ORG. 172800 IN NS NS2.OVERSTABLE.COM.
PHORUM.ORG. 172800 IN NS NS1.OVERSTABLE.COM.
;; Received 88 bytes from 204.74.113.1#53(TLD2.ULTRADNS.NET) in 36 ms

phorum.org. 86400 IN A 207.111.175.100
phorum.org. 259200 IN NS ns1.overstable.com.
phorum.org. 259200 IN NS ns2.overstable.com.
;; Received 126 bytes from 207.111.175.101#53(NS2.OVERSTABLE.COM) in 91 ms


bettter from my us web host but not much use to me in NZ, could just grag it though the webserver but why should i have to. odd that its unavalable in nz

whtafo
05-11-2004, 01:23 PM
> bettter from my us web host but not much use to me in
> NZ, could just grag it though the webserver but why
> should i have to. odd that its unavalable in nz

Get used to it unfortunately.

More and more sites are restricting themselves off to their own country only - George Bush did it, some popular TV stations are starting to do it as well.

You could try contacting the site operator and request they remove the restrictions but I wouldn't hold your breath.

dagon
05-11-2004, 01:30 PM
i did get in touch and they said it was nothing to do with them.

Graham L
05-11-2004, 01:30 PM
A web server will respond to "www.domainname.xx.xx" only if exactly that name is registered in the DNS system. If the server has the registered name "mywebserver.domain.xx.xx" it won't respond to "www.mywebserver.domain.xx". In fact, the server does not respond to anyname ... it can only respond to its IP address, which is a 32 bit (or 128 bit) number. That number is provided by the DNS system, which provide answers only to names which are registered.

The service a web server is providing is the http: protocol, indicated by the http:// component of the URL.

I belive that some browsers (I know Netscape 3 did) will prefix "www" a site address after receiving an error message. This will make it appear (to the user) as if "mywebserver.domain.xx.xx" and "www.mywebserver.domain.xx.xx" are equivalent. They are not, unless they are made to be so by registering both names and defining them to return the same IP address.

Big John
05-11-2004, 03:25 PM
Maybe it was a security issue and Bush put iton the banned list of servers that could not be contacted outside of the USA.