PDA

View Full Version : ntldr



ptopz
04-11-2004, 08:53 PM
Help. My old ibm p500 laptop has had a big long holiday under my bed and when I now turn it on it wont boot up into windows (2000), instead giving me the error message

NTLDR is missing
Press any key to continue.

Needless to say, pressing any key gets me nowhere.

Any ideas??

Spacemannz
04-11-2004, 08:55 PM
Check and see if the bootup disk in the BIOS is pointing to a bootable device / hdd.

whtafo
04-11-2004, 08:59 PM
Take floppy/CD out of drive.

drcspy
04-11-2004, 09:00 PM
Windows XP users

Insert the Windows XP bootable CD into the computer.
When prompted to press any key to boot from the CD, press any key.
Once in the Windows XP setup menu press the "R" key to repair Windows.
Log into your Windows installation by pressing the "1" key and pressing enter.
You will then be prompted for your administrator password, enter that password.
Copy the below two files to the root directory of the primary hard disk. In the
below example we are copying these files from the CD-ROM drive letter "E". This
letter may be different on your computer.

copy e:\i386\ntldr c:
copy ntdetect.com c:


Once both of these files have been successfully copied, remove the CD from the
computer and reboot.

******************************

Misconfiguration with the boot.ini file

Edit the boot.ini on the root directory of the hard disk drive and verify that it is
pointing to the correct location of your Windows Operating System and that the
partitions are properly defined

45South
04-11-2004, 09:03 PM
Windows 2000 Users
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000465.htm
Read here, it was too long to copy/paste

Murray P
04-11-2004, 09:04 PM
Pop you win2k CD in and boot from it (you may have to change the BIOS to boot from CDRom before any HDD) and choose Repair once it has done it's thing. Choose Console or Repair from the Console (basically a command prompt), you'll need your Admin password ready to access the console BTW.

If you need help while in the console, type: /? , enter or the name of any command such as fixmbr /? enter to get specific help.

To fix the MBR (master boot record) type: fixmbr , enter. Reboot whip the CD out and see how that goes. If no good still, go back to the console but this type type: sh*t I've gone blank, someone help, please!!! It's in there and failry intuitive once you see it, in fact it might be mentioned in fixmbr /?.

Good luck, post back witht he results.

Cheers Murray P

Murray P
04-11-2004, 09:06 PM
Doing a parallel install and fidding around with boot.ini, boot.com NTLDR, et al, will come later if the simple ones don't work.

Cheers Murray P

Murray P
04-11-2004, 09:33 PM
I got it, fixboot, type: fixboot while at the console.

Cheers Murray P

ptopz
04-11-2004, 10:03 PM
really sorry, really dumb, there was a floppy in the a: drive.

I will go and have a cold shower and throw stones at myself.

Sorry.

whtafo
04-11-2004, 10:06 PM
> really sorry, really dumb, there was a floppy in the
> a: drive.

>> Take floppy/CD out of drive.

45South
04-11-2004, 10:09 PM
>Take floppy/CD out of drive.
PF1's legend takes it away again!

>I will go and have a cold shower and throw stones at myself
Don't forget to give yourself 40 uppercuts as well :)