PDA

View Full Version : D-Link ADSL Modem



loftyboyd
04-11-2004, 09:39 AM
Hi, connected yesterday with Xtra free modem offer. If it is idle for about half hour it shows a yellow spot on tray icon and if I bring up webpage I am asked to repair connection and all is ok.Winxp How do I check modem settings

whtafo
04-11-2004, 09:41 AM
You might wanna call Xtra.

They ship those things with custom firmware/software from memory so they are a bit different to a bog standard D-Link.

~~~~~ s y ~~~~~
04-11-2004, 10:20 AM
I would call Xtra. Those D-Link modems have being specifically set accordingly to what Xtra thought was right for their network.

Having used a D-Link, I am not at all suprised at your dilemma. One would hope that seeing as they have being ordered on mass by Xtra, that they would have got the settings and things spot on for problem free surfing.

P.S. I no longer use my D-Link DSL500

drcspy
04-11-2004, 10:48 AM
if it's the one I'm thinkin bring up any webpage then type this into the addy bar: 10.1.1.0, (hope that's right but it'll be in the documentation that comes on the cd anyway), then tap enter that'll take you into a series of setup screens 'within' the modem......

loftyboyd
04-11-2004, 01:15 PM
Many thanks, will ring Xtra

neptune
04-11-2004, 03:29 PM
Dlink 302g - You can type 10.1.1.1(thru ethernet) or 10.1.1.2 (thru usb)
in IE to login to modem. The bulk of the modems have customised Xtra
firmware but some batches went out with Dlink firmware. Its the same process though and applies to Dlink504G

Growly
04-11-2004, 05:32 PM
I for one have a whole bunch of D-Links. The only problem is with the DSL-500 which always freezes and restarts. I bought a D707P to ease the load on the thing, and made it act as a plain old modem, and since then it hasnt screwed up much at all.

Mike
04-11-2004, 05:43 PM
The XP firewall might be affecting it.

Also if your network adapter is set to disable if inactive for a period of time it could cause problems.

Mike.