PDA

View Full Version : networking mandrake 10 to win me



phil.b
30-10-2004, 11:39 PM
Iīve done the above but canīt see the me comp. The me comp canīt see linux either.
Do you use Konqueror to view the network?

Phi

Chilling_Silence
30-10-2004, 11:49 PM
You can use Konqueror, typing the following in the Address bar:
smb://

Or try smb4k, or lineighbourhood.

You'll need to start the Samba service. Samba is basically how Linux talks to Windows.
To start the server, run the following as root:
/etc/init.d/samba start

This may help for creating a basic smb.conf file so that you can share files from your Mandrake box:
http://nzlinuxfaq.orcon.net.nz/networking/networking_samba.html

Enjoy


Chill.

phil.b
30-10-2004, 11:57 PM
Iīd better install samba first.
Itīs d/loading now. Iīll install tomorrow
Thanks Chill

Phil

JohnD
01-11-2004, 07:53 PM
I'd be really surprised if SAMBA is not on the OS CDs

Chilling_Silence
01-11-2004, 08:57 PM
I would be too.... IIRC, Mandrake uses urpmi to install apps, use it to get smb4k.

Otherwise, you can try the following command as root:
modprobe smbfs
mount -t smbfs -o username=family,password=wxyz //192.168.0.2/Docs /mnt/samba


Chill.