PDA

View Full Version : Video Card Heatsink



ApeNz
24-10-2004, 10:37 PM
My radeon 9200 came with a heatsink but no fan so i bought a new one which included a fan thinking i could get the old one of , i took the white holder things off but it seems to be stuck to the chip - is it meant to be taken off - if yes how ?
Thanks

tweak\'e
24-10-2004, 10:42 PM
the thermal paste will bw sticking it on. it can take a bit to get it off.

your vid card dosn't require a fan so why bother changing the heatsinks?
if you really need to cool it down then add a fan to the existing heatsink (which could well be bigger than your new one).

ApeNz
24-10-2004, 10:44 PM
it gets to around 60 Deg , and i have no free area under my video card in order to put a fan on top ( modem , sound , extra usb etc )

tweak\'e
24-10-2004, 10:53 PM
whats the case temp?

the fan dosn't have to be under the video card ;-)

ApeNz
24-10-2004, 10:59 PM
case temp is 28 deg , a 80mm is close to the video card yet when playing games ( doom III ) , it does seem to creep up rather quickly

tweak\'e
24-10-2004, 11:05 PM
mmmmm.....ok. provided the case temp dosn't get cooler when you remove the sides of the case then the best thing is to work on the video card heatsink/fan. if you can't add a fan to the existing then removal of the old is the only way to go. try gently twisting the heatsink. make sure you don't hit any parts on the board. you may need to cut through the paste with a string.

ApeNz
24-10-2004, 11:07 PM
is 28 deg high - its not going to damage the chip is it - is it possible when pulling the heatsink of to pull of the whole chip

tweak\'e
24-10-2004, 11:13 PM
assuming 20+ room temp and a resonable accurate temp sensor then 28 is fine. if temp goes down after taking side of case off is ussually a sign of poor case airflow.

yes if the heatsink is to well glued on and you use way to much force you may damage the video chip. be carefull.

ApeNz
24-10-2004, 11:35 PM
if i do have bad air blow which i am checking now i think its becasue my psu doesnt have a fan thats in the case - im about to get a new one that does. I have heard that open slot covers can stuff up temps in your computer is this true

ApeNz
24-10-2004, 11:37 PM
case temp goes down to 27 deg - from 29 deg after a few minutes of one side cover being opened. Measuring temp using a aerogate II fan controller

tweak\'e
25-10-2004, 10:10 AM
>case temp goes down to 27 deg - from 29 deg

thats ok. if it went from 29 to 19 i would be worried.

Prescott
25-10-2004, 10:59 AM
your radeon 9200 gets to 60C ???? thats a bit insane for a small/underpowerd card.
are your IDE cables blocking the air flow?, i had to change mine around so that there was good air flow.
I have a radeon 9600SE with the stock heatsink but im not too sure on how to measure the temps, can i use mbm??. theres no way for me to put a fan on the heatsink because there is like 1 mm between the graphics card and my modem. indeed it was a tight squeeze

tweak\'e
25-10-2004, 12:40 PM
i'm surprised you guys have used all the pci slots, exspecially with the amount of features that are onboard most mobo's.

i'm not a fan of modems in the first pci slot (exspecially if your an internet gamer). its always best to but the smallest card next to the vid card.

what you can do is install a fan so it blows down inbetween the 2 cards (depending on which way the fins run)

Prescott
25-10-2004, 12:48 PM
> i'm surprised you guys have used all the pci slots,
> exspecially with the amount of features that are
> onboard most mobo's.
>
> i'm not a fan of modems in the first pci slot
> (exspecially if your an internet gamer). its always
> best to but the smallest card next to the vid card.

but theres a small problem to this, my case, the top slot is the pci card which has the modem, and the next one down is the apg slot. i only have one pci slot. i do use the onboard features like the sound and networking and usb. i only noticed this layout when i upgraded from intergrated graphics to my graphics card.

tweak\'e
25-10-2004, 12:58 PM
>i only have one pci slot

don't ya just hate micro sized pc's ....argghhhhh ! !

Prescott
25-10-2004, 01:02 PM
yeah, i sort of do now, but oh well it looks good and i have the stuff in it what i need, i even put a radeon 9600se in it, i think that is the max it can handle otherwise i would need a new power suppy.

Blue_face
25-10-2004, 03:22 PM
Like Presott have said........ 9200 goes upto 60degrees are insane. I dont believe that measure is accurate compare to my 9800xt it only goes upto 60-70 degrees.

anyway.... to make it easier to take off your the heatsink, why dont u go play some hardcore games which require heavy video card processing for 15mins to heat up the glue that is stuck to the heatsink. This will make it easier to take it off.

Prescott
25-10-2004, 05:08 PM
what program did you measure to record that temp???

ApeNz
25-10-2004, 08:47 PM
im using a fan controller with thermal sensors on it - only good graphics cards come with onboard temp readers - that why you pay so much

Prescott
25-10-2004, 09:17 PM
> im using a fan controller with thermal sensors on it
> - only good graphics cards come with onboard temp
> readers - that why you pay so much


ok, i got a gecube radeon 9600se, how do i find out the temps?

ApeNz
25-10-2004, 09:19 PM
if it gots a sensor i suspect you will use the prgram that came with it , otherwise email the supplier , the motherboard cant do it as its only connected to the vpu through the port

ApeNz
25-10-2004, 09:20 PM
gpu not vpu

Prescott
25-10-2004, 09:22 PM
i only got a drivers disk....

ApeNz
25-10-2004, 09:25 PM
no manual

Blue_face
25-10-2004, 09:36 PM
if your card support overdrive, mayb you can use that to check your temp out. its in the videocard options and look in the overdrive tab.

if your card dont support overdive, then the overdrive tab wont show up.

try update your driver before u check it out...far as i can remember the driver from the cd is very old and overdrive dont exist in there.

Prescott
25-10-2004, 10:07 PM
the manual is on the disk, nah overdrive isnt there, i will soon download the omega drivers package and run my card on that, but even those dont have a feature that show your cards temp