PDA

View Full Version : PC problems...



fergie
16-10-2004, 09:27 AM
Hi all.
Haven't been hear for a while, but hello again!

My pc, over the last week or so, has been giving me grief.
All of a sudden, it just locked up, i thought it was just a one off, but the next day it did the same.
And after that, it just started getting more frequent.
I'm on XP Pro, didn't have SP2 installed - but update (security) regulary.
I have Zone Alarm runing, and Norton 2004 AV, as well as Spybot & adaware
All were updated, and i done regular scans.
I hadn't installed any extra hardware or the likes, but when i purchased the CoD Exp, that game started to lock up alot also.
So i ended up saving everything i needed to disk, and formatted the partition with the OS on it, and done a clean install.
All looked good - until 5mins ago it froze, i reset, and it done similar things it was doing before:
1) Just 'plain' freezing, no warning, just everything freezes - requires a reboot
2) getting a BSOD - i can't see what it says, but i have picked out "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL"
3)having everything disapear - the task bar, mouse, start menu, windows etc - and just left with the background, CTL ALT DEL and ALT ab do nothing,nor does the window key.
4) reseting before it even gets into windows

And they've all happened after the format which all i've installed is drivers and SP2 (i haven't been on the net with it yet - this is on another PC)
I am trying to install norton's AV but i don't have enough time - it resets before it finsihes.

I have done CHKDSK's but they seem to have no effect.
If anyone knows whats causing this, or what i can do to fix it, please lemme no.
Cheers
Alex

johnboy
16-10-2004, 09:33 AM
One way to find out If your computer is going . Go to control panel/Admistrative tools and check the event viewer it should tell you what is happening.
hth

johnboy
16-10-2004, 09:34 AM
Administrative

metla
16-10-2004, 09:35 AM
Ram or psu.

Spacemannz
16-10-2004, 09:37 AM
Well yup its most probably a faulty / corrupted driver for one of your PCI cards or devices. Thats what IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL means.

I would take everything out BUT the hdd/video/ram see if it crashes again.

If the system's ok with the hdd/ram/videocard add the rest bit by bit, to see which card/whatever you've added crashes the system.

fergie
16-10-2004, 11:10 AM
arhh.
i looked at the event log, and one of the errors was:

The time provider NtpClient is configured to acquire time from one or more time sources, however none of the sources are currently accessible. No attempt to contact a source will be made for 14 minutes. NtpClient has no source of accurate time.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

Time Provider NtpClient: An error occurred during DNS lookup of the manually configured peer 'time.windows.com,0x1'. NtpClient will try the DNS lookup again in 15 minutes. The error was: A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host. (0x80072751)


So i went into the Time/Date settings, and disabled time syncing on the net. I then had about 45min of crash free computing!! Then all of a sudded it froze :(
Then i locked up while doing the scan, then it reset before it even got to this stage.
SO i started in Safe Mode -checked the log, and it had this (it had these entries before aswell):
.

DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service netman with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{BA126AE5-2166-11D1-B1D0-00805FC1270E}

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
AFD
AmdK7
Fips
IPSec
MRxSmb
NetBIOS
NetBT
RasAcd
Rdbss
Tcpip

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

The IPSEC Services service depends on the IPSEC driver service which failed to start because of the following error:
A device attached to the system is not functioning.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp

The DNS Client service depends on the TCP/IP Protocol Driver service which failed to start because of the following error:
A device attached to the system is not functioning.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk0\D during a paging operation.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

The device, \Device\Scsi\nvidesm1, did not respond within the timeout period.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

can anyone read them??
I'm going to have a look on the net now, if i can't find anything, i'll try removing stuff
Cheers

Murray P
16-10-2004, 11:32 AM
First off, not everything in the event viewer is critical to the operation of the PC, you also need to look at the Application events as well (as System) and the times at which they happen to get an association between the two (if any) and the freezes, BSOD's, etc.

The IRQ not less......... can be hardware or software (software ,in this case usually means drivers), the hex address will give you an idea.

By the looks of your events I would suspect motherboard drivers or RAM.
Is this an nForce chipset board or do you have a SCSI controller?

Look at the event ID's then go here (http://www.eventid.net/display.asp?eventid=1001&eventno=651&source=Save%20Dump&phase=1) the one listed just happens to be one I was serching when I bookmarked the site, take no notice unless it's listed in your event viewer.

Cheers Murray P

fergie
16-10-2004, 11:44 AM
hi.
Thanks for that.
Yes - its a ChainTech Apogee 7nJ1 (or similar - i will have to have a look) with the nForce 2 chipset.
I'm downloading the seagate disk checker program - as i have 2 HDD's (2 seagates) so i will see if theres anything wrong with them.
After reading on the net, i think it will be:
1) the HDD
2) The PSU (I have a 320w iCute (lol, i think - have to check that aswell) runing 768mb DDR Ram, 1x 60gb 7200, 1x 80gb 7200, Athlon 1800, 1x DVD ROM, 1x CDRW, and a Radeon 9600xt - will 320 be enough? i mean it has been for the past few months...
3) the ram
4) a driver problem

I don't no the details on teh BSOD - so i'll try get a picture of it to have a look.
BUt i'll run this HDD scanner, see what tht says, then i'll remove the secondary HDD and the DVD drive, and see if that does anything (if so - its probably the PSU) if still the same, i'll take it down to its bear min - see then, if still no good, i'll try other ram, and then, if still no luck, it would have to be either the HDD or a driver problem - so i'll try get more details on this BSOD

fergie
16-10-2004, 12:58 PM
I just ran the seagate program.
My primary HDD is a 60gb - i have the C drive partitioned on it - and the scan found this was 'critical' and the other partitions were fine.
It said this may cause errors in windows, such as problems booting up, shuting down and or frequent lock ups.
This looks like me!
So i'm gonna look into it.
I thought tho, when i formated it - it would have fixed this?

Graham L
16-10-2004, 02:21 PM
If a disk is faulty, formatting just produces a freshly formatted faulty disk. :D

Murray P
16-10-2004, 02:28 PM
Could still be drivers or controller but, there is a real possibility the disk is on the way out. Back up your important data. Can you ghost your setup onto the other disk?

Cheers Murray P

fergie
16-10-2004, 04:16 PM
Hi.
I have ran a few scans now - defraq, chkdsk, Speed disk.
And i haven't had a lock up.
I played 1hr of CoD - no probs - so hopefully all is well.
But i have backed up all the important files on this hdd to the other one & cds,
so i'll just wait and c!!
Thanks for all ya help tho.
Cheers
Alex