PDA

View Full Version : Blue screen of death(?) when trying to use Safe Mode



Scattershot06
15-10-2004, 02:05 PM
This is sort of a follow on from a previous problem that I posted. But it was quite a bit ago so I'd think it be better to start over.

When trying to run Safe Mode in Windows(XP Pro),

I get this message on a blue screen with white text -

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent
damage to your computer.

IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

If this is the first time youv'e seen this stop error screen, restart your
computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
for any Windows Updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware or
software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
If you need to use SAFE MODE to remove or disable components, restart your
computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then select
Safe Mode.

Technical Information:

stop: 0x0000000A( 0xF9F51354 0x000000FF 0x00000001 0x8050FD7F )

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I haven't installed any hardware for, ever I believe, since I got the computer. As far as I know, all software is properly installed. By that I mean, I haven't received any problems when installing recent software and none of it has been malfunctioning in any way.

I haven't currently got an internet connection at home so it's been quite a bit since I downloaded a Windows Update. I'm also still using SP 1.

As far as I know, I haven't applied caching or shadowing in the BIOS, unless these are default settings.

Does anyone have any ideas on this matter?

drcspy
15-10-2004, 03:03 PM
run a ram test

Scattershot06
15-10-2004, 04:07 PM
I don't know how to do that, can you give me some guidance?

metla
15-10-2004, 04:14 PM
Open up your case,identify the ram,ask it what the Capital of Scotland is....




Or...



Do a google for memtest86,grab the image file and put it on the apropiate media and boot off it.

Most tend to recomend the floppy iso,i use the cd iso instead,Because im leet,like a beet.....root,plate of soup.

Billy T
15-10-2004, 04:59 PM
> This is sort of a follow on from a previous problem
> that I posted. But it was quite a bit ago so I'd
> think it be better to start over.
>
> When trying to run Safe Mode in Windows(XP Pro),
>
> I get this message on a blue screen with white text

One question come to mind:

Presumably this computer still works normally and it is only in safe mode that it fall over? The long time between posts suggests this.

If so, that may eliminate memory issues.

If it does work on a full boot, have you tried disabling hardware items to see if it works in safe mode.

I know that sounds a bit arse about face, but your post isn't 100% clear.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)